psychicadvis
Wicth Xoops to download

This is my first time to download every so witch is the one i should download?? I got and genral Ideal of hwo this works casue I was reading up on everythign this past 3 weeks..and It's andlittle like whjat I seen with my web hosted called ipower and they support this luagnage stuff so i know I can use it..I'm excited to get started!!!

JasonMR
Re: Wicth Xoops to download
  • 2005/2/8 1:19

• JasonMR

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/6/21

Reminds me of Robin Williams: "Why does a psychic need a telephone number?"

How about trying the latest release, assigned the version number 2.0.9.2.

I'm just a wanna-be scientist, but the words "Latest Version" seem pretty obvious. Guess the term 'patch' is a little ambiguous...

WISH YOU LUCK!...

psychicadvis

Ok do I upload after I download the lastest 2. somthing then do I download eh pathches or what eveer that is top??

codeghost
  • 2005/2/10 13:27

• codeghost

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/26

Mambo :-p

Xoops 2.0.9.3 is the latest creation and should be the one you download, this is the most secure of all XOOPS thanks to Ono and GiJoe =)

JasonMR
  • 2005/2/10 13:43

• JasonMR

• Just can't stay away

XOOPS patches are for updates only!

So, if there is a security issue, and the core team fixes the problem, the version number goes up.

If you look closely, you will notice
Quote:

XOOPS 2.0.9 to 2.0.9.2 patch
.zip | tarball
XOOPS 2.0.7.x to 2.0.9.2 patch
.zip | tarball
XOOPS 2.0.7 to 2.0.9.2 patch
.zip | tarball

... everything labelled as a patch, has two sets of numbers, ajoined by "to"...meaning, you go from one number to the next version, by patching the first version number, which leaves you with the last version number.

An example. Let's say, you had installed XOOPS a couple of months ago. Then you would have an 2.0.7 installation.
Now you want the latest version, so you would need the "XOOPS 2.0.7 to 2.0.9.2 patch"