anim_chowdhu
Stablility of xcGallery

Downloaded xcGallery RC 1.1 from this site. Document says "This Version is the first release candidat, this means it isn't stable and maybe there are some little bugs."

And there project(http://www.myxoopsforge.org/modules/xfmod/project/?xcgal) page took me tohttp://www.xoops2.org where no files under xcGallery folder.

Since I need a Available feature rich and STABLE Galerry for latest XOOPS, should I go with it?

scorpian
Re: Stablility of xcGallery
  • 2005/1/30 8:00

• scorpian

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/11/2

xcGallery RC 1.1 is quite stable to use, I have used it for a while for my site www.tai-cheong.com. Although the module still need to improve, all software always need to improve. :)

You may need to modify a little to fit you own site, but quite stable to use.

kiwiguy
  • 2005/1/30 8:29

• kiwiguy

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/4/19

I have been using XCgallery for now 8 months and with only slight issues which have been a overlook on myself I myself would not recommend anything else than xcgallery

regards
kiwiguy

anim_chowdhu

Nice work. It would be helpful if I can know those slight issues in advance.
Informative forum articles links are highly appreciated.

kiwiguy
  • 2005/1/30 9:39

• kiwiguy

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2004/4/19

Well I tend to have regular blonde moments as long as you set the correct permissions you will be ok. 777 to the albums and userpics folder in your server and also in the xcgal/prefernces section of your admin menu.

The only other issue I had is that it has a problem working on "safe mode on" there is a fix for this that may help which is by uncommentin 1 line in this file

xcgal/include/init.inc.php

the original code is

Quote:
//define('SILLY_SAFE_MODE',1);

simply uncomment that line so it should look like this after the change

Quote:
define('SILLY_SAFE_MODE',1);