coulix
Need advice on the feasability of the thing
  • 2005/1/18 5:12

• coulix

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/18

hi, i am new to xoop but not to web design/programming

the web site need a mailing list where members will all receive emails divided by categories, kind of mass mailing with the possibility to unsubscribe ect..

is there a module for such a thing in xoops?
if not what is the more realistic method ?
thank you

brash
Re: Need advice on the feasability of the thing
  • 2005/1/18 5:19

• brash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/4/10

Nothing bullet proof yet, but there needs to be (I think anyway). How many users are you thinking?

rowdie
  • 2005/1/18 7:06

• rowdie

• Just can't stay away

• Since: 2004/7/21

There is the Evennews module , which is a basic newsletter module. It might be a place to start.

coulix
  • 2005/1/18 11:52

• coulix

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/18

i give you the line and tell me what you think is the more adapted.

We would also like to have a mass email program located on the website to allows us to
- Mass email our members about our events
-We prefer mailing list servers as opposed to group mail because groups tends to be abused by students
-Store sent email automatically on the website database
-connect the db to the email address lists, so that it allows us to use tags in our emails to be able to personalise emails using the personal details (e,e Dear <>)
-Be able to create lists for different events and mass mail audiences
- Allow members to sybscribe and unsubscribe to the various mailing lists via the website
-Email should have spell check function (<-haha of course not)

the guy who wrote this do not really know about the way a website is working as you can see.. anyway a mailing list by area and not by events is good enought.

brash
  • 2005/1/18 23:29

• brash

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/4/10

Hi coulix,