1
sunadmn
Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 14:42

  • sunadmn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/9/22


Good morning all I wanted to know a bit more about setting up custom menus in XOOPS so I can have menus driven by the user they login as. Example if a user is in a group called UNIX I want a menu with info pertaining just to the UNIX group, but also on a side note I would like to be able to control documents by user/group so if user is in group UNIX maybe that specfic user also has access to some menus items in the NETWORK group can this be done???



Thanks
-SUNADMN

2
tjnemez
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 14:55

  • tjnemez

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1594

  • Since: 2003/9/21


you can create a custom group under sytem admin -> groups

3
sunadmn
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 15:36

  • sunadmn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/9/22


Well that kind of answers a question, but not exactly what I was looking for. Ok so let me try this again here on the XOOPS site they have menus like Community, User menu, Development, etc. this is the type of custom menus I would like to build for groups of users on a user/group level. Also on another side note I want to be able to add items to the main menu just like when a module is installed I hope that will clear up my question a bit.



Thanks
-SUNADMN

4
ajuden
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 16:00

  • ajuden

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 87

  • Since: 2003/4/17


There is a module that is available, that is what you're looking for I believe. Try this one: multiMenu.

*Edit
The actual download is at this link
multiMenu

5
tjnemez
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 16:09

  • tjnemez

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1594

  • Since: 2003/9/21


to simply add to main menu you will need to edit your system_block_mainmenu.html template to look like this:

<table cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td id="mainmenu">
<a class="menuTop" href="<{$xoops_url}>/"><{$block.lang_home}></a>
<!-- start module menu loop -->
<{foreach item=module from=$block.modules}>
<a class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/modules/<{$module.directory}>/"><{$module.name}></a> <{foreach item=sublink from=$module.sublinks}>
<a class="menuSub" href="<{$sublink.url}>"><{$sublink.name}></a>
<{/foreach}>
<{/foreach}>
<!-- end module menu loop -->
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
</td> </tr>
</table>

you can create custom menu blocks and give permission to certain users:

<div class="blockContent">
<table cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td id="mainmenu">
<a class="menuTop" href="">yourtext</a>
<!-- start module menu loop -->
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
<!-- end module menu loop -->
</td>
</tr>
</table></div>

add all the links you want

6
ajuden
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 16:13

  • ajuden

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 87

  • Since: 2003/4/17


Okay, I installed this module on my site. It looks like it works pretty well.

After you have installed the module, from the admin menu of that module, you will need to:
1. choose multiMenu 1.
2. add a new link (you can actually set your group permissions on the link)
3. After you have added all of the links you want to display in that group, then go to System -> Blocks.
4. Find the block for multiMenu 1.
5. Edit this block.
6. Change the title from multiMenu 1 to whatever it is you want as the main menu title.
7. You will also need to select the visible option to 'yes' before saving your block.
8. Save the block and see what happens on the home page.

Good luck

7
sunadmn
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/5 16:41

  • sunadmn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 16

  • Since: 2004/9/22


Great I think that will handle the issues I need just fine. Next it is onto the migration of old site to new whish me luck.




Thanks
-SUNADMN

8
ultraBoy
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/12 22:15

  • ultraBoy

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 4

  • Since: 2004/10/11


Quote:

tjnemez wrote:
to simply add to main menu you will need to edit your system_block_mainmenu.html template to look like this:

<table cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td id="mainmenu">
<a class="menuTop" href="<{$xoops_url}>/"><{$block.lang_home}></a>
<!-- start module menu loop -->
<{foreach item=module from=$block.modules}>
<a class="menuMain" href="<{$xoops_url}>/modules/<{$module.directory}>/"><{$module.name}></a> <{foreach item=sublink from=$module.sublinks}>
<a class="menuSub" href="<{$sublink.url}>"><{$sublink.name}></a>
<{/foreach}>
<{/foreach}>
<!-- end module menu loop -->
<a class="menuMain" href="">yourtext</a>
</td> </tr>
</table>

...............................................
add all the links you want


But as I understand, it's impossible for example, to paste your "custom link" between "moduls' links", am I right?

if it's so, it's very STUPID

(i guess would be good to have a link created automatically when creating custom block)

9
tjnemez
Re: Custom menus
  • 2004/10/12 23:11

  • tjnemez

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1594

  • Since: 2003/9/21


yes that may be, but you can add as per example in bold. i have no experience with multimenu module so i cannot speak to that.

Login

Who's Online

212 user(s) are online (137 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 212


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits