xoops forums

chco2

Module Developer
Posted on: 2011/12/4 12:58
chco2
chco2 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 374
Since: 2004/3/5 1
#1

TDMDownloads 1.61

Hi guys (and gals),

Is it possible to have two instances of TDMDownloads installed?

thanks,
Charly
“It's amazing the way people cling to insults. Or what they think are insults.”

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/12/4 18:42
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10944
Since: 2004/4/23
#2

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

What do you mean by this?

The same user accessing it twice, under the same name?

Under different name, but accessing the same data tables?

Under different name, but accessing different tables?

Most of the time, you'll need to clone it.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

chco2

Module Developer
Posted on: 2011/12/4 19:09
chco2
chco2 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 374
Since: 2004/3/5 1
#3

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Hi Mamba!

I would like to have another TDMDownloads module installed. Separate from the other install.
So .. can I just copy the TDMDownloads folder, rename it and install that ?
I was looking at the sql install file for TDMDownloads and I think it will install the same tables, that is why I asked.
“It's amazing the way people cling to insults. Or what they think are insults.”

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/12/4 19:38
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10944
Since: 2004/4/23
#4

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

If the "clone" function is not built in (like in Publisher), the best way is to run "search & replace", and change TDMDownolad to something else, like "chcoDownoald"

Then you'll have to rename the tables, and run again search & replace to make sure that none of the "old" names are left out in any of the functions.

Also, make sure that none of the files contain any of the "old" names in their names, e.g. if there is a file called:

TDMDownloadcheck.php

it should be changed to:

chcoDownloadcheck.php

And then test and test and test
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

chco2

Module Developer
Posted on: 2011/12/4 19:40
chco2
chco2 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 374
Since: 2004/3/5 1
#5

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Ok thanks! I thought I'd ask before I went down that road.
“It's amazing the way people cling to insults. Or what they think are insults.”

Shine

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2012/4/15 11:48
Shine
Shine (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 822
Since: 2002/7/22
#6

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Quote:
If the "clone" function is not built in (like in Publisher), the best way is to run "search & replace",


Cloning TDMdownloads is a 'hell'.
How difficult would it be to build in a clone feature like publisher has?
Is there a/the developer/coder who can manage to make it possible?

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2012/4/15 11:57
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10944
Since: 2004/4/23
#7

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Quote:
How difficult would it be to build in a clone feature like publisher has?

I don't know, but I would love to see all XOOPS module being clonable like Publisher is.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

hipoonios

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2012/4/15 14:43
hipoonios
hipoonios (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 298
Since: 2005/9/24
#8

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

I have renamed TDMDownloads with the search and replace method and it works like a charm. But I don't recommending it. Because there will be problems to update the module later if a new version will be released.
I love Xoops!

Shine

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2012/6/18 22:20
Shine
Shine (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 822
Since: 2002/7/22
#9

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Quote:
I have renamed TDMDownloads with the search and replace method and it works like a charm. But I don't recommending it. Because there will be problems to update the module later if a new version will be released.


Can you make your clone available for download?
Second question:
Which words (and files) etc. needed to be renamed.
I myself cloned during the last years several modules. Some where easy, some where a hell. Only renaming de modules names and html files wasn't enough. Speccially when it comes to permission rights.

Would be great if you enlighten what you've al renamed for thius module. I tried it, but somehow I couldn't get my clone working right.

Thanks in advance

hipoonios

Friend of XOOPS
Posted on: 2012/11/29 4:58
hipoonios
hipoonios (Show more)
Friend of XOOPS
Posts: 298
Since: 2005/9/24
#10

Re: TDMDownloads 1.61

Sorry, have forgot about this thread.

I used this to rename the file structure: http://www.1-4a.com/rename/

and this to search and replace inside the files: http://www.replsoft.com/

Here can you download my module renamed 'movies: http://www.speedyshare.com/JAKQY/movies.zip

No problems so far.