xoops forums

chefry

Home away from home
Posted on: 2010/1/10 15:52
chefry
chefry (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1005
Since: 2006/10/14
#1

WF-Links or any Links Module??

Is there a links module that actually works with the current version of Xoops?

I tried the latest (1.07) version of WF-Links, and it works fine, except for the "latest links" on the main page

I'm not getting any links showing. There's no information showing and the "visit Link" doesn't go anywhere.

And in the country filed it shows

Quote:

Country: <{$wfllink.countryname}>


Any help to fix this would be appreciated.

TIA!

Mazarin

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/1/10 17:32
Mazarin
Mazarin (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 533
Since: 2008/12/10
#2

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

Works fine for me under 2.4.3

chefry

Home away from home
Posted on: 2010/1/11 10:34
chefry
chefry (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1005
Since: 2006/10/14
#3

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

Good for you


doesn't help my situation though

Mazarin

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/1/11 12:49
Mazarin
Mazarin (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 533
Since: 2008/12/10
#4

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

Just replying to the first question of your post, that WF-Links 1.07 does work with the latest version of Xoops, thus implying that your problem is local. Sorry I couldn't help with the specifics.

culex

Module Developer
Posted on: 2010/1/11 13:36
culex
culex (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 705
Since: 2004/9/23
#5

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

@chefry

Try to upload the module again to see if any files are missing from the installation, something tells me this could be the answer.

Can you tell something about your enviroment
- XOOPS version
- php, MySQL versions ?
- Do you have error messages in other modules ?

1.07 is fixed for bugs in december 2008, and should run also on 2.4.3 as Mazarin says, but maybe will need some tweeking still.

Still if any of this doesn't help I personally use web links from Happy linux this works without problems. But will require also the module happy linux frameworks to work

chefry

Home away from home
Posted on: 2010/1/11 19:48
chefry
chefry (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1005
Since: 2006/10/14
#6

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

Thanks for the suggestion culex

web links is awesome!

Balzac

Just popping in
Posted on: 2010/1/11 23:37
Balzac
Balzac (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 68
Since: 2010/1/11
#7

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

See: http://members.multimania.nl/mcdonald ... hpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=128

Found a small typo in WF-Links 1.07 that causes new links not to be displayed correctly on the Index Page.

To fix this open the file ../templates/wflinks_index.html and find this line:
Code
<{include 
file="db:wflinks_linkload.html" link=$link[i]}>



Replace the above line with the following:
Code:
<{include file="db:wflinks_linkload.html" wfllink=$link[i]}>


It's possible the developer never changed it in his latest 107 release.


Save the file, upload it to your server and update WF-Links from the Module Administration.

barryc

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/1/15 19:39
barryc
barryc (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 480
Since: 2004/3/20
#8

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

@ mazarin

I don't think the problem is local. WF-links 1.07 doesn't work for me either, running XOOPS 2.4.3, php 5, MySQL 5.

I was having a problem with WF-Links 1.3 where links wouldn't come up due to some problem with the age rerstriction function in that version. I tried updating to 1.07 (as well as a new install). I could see links to a category on the home page but no links were shown. I made the correction indicated by Balzac and now I can see that there are links within a catagory. However, if I click on the link to that category, no links are shown on the resulting page.

Mazarin, I would be interested in knowing where you downloaded your version of WF-Links 1.07. Maybe there is a fixed version out there. Or, could you send the files for the version you have to webmaster at aka.org so that I can try it.

If I have to I'll switch to Web Links but I'd rather not have to redo all my links.

barryc

barryc

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/2/13 1:15
barryc
barryc (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 480
Since: 2004/3/20
#9

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

An update on my observations and "problems" with WF-Links:

It turned out that the failure of newly added links to appear is related to the time stamp put on the link. First, it will often be a minute or two later than your actual local time. Second, there is a potential problem between server time and local time. Anyway, if the time stamp is later than your local time, you won't see the link. It will appear once your time is later than the time stamp.

You can avoid this by choosing a time stamp in the submission form that is earlier than your local time when posting. Then the link will appear immediately.

A simple problem but it fooled me for a while.

barryc

Mazarin

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/2/13 9:56
Mazarin
Mazarin (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 533
Since: 2008/12/10
#10

Re: WF-Links or any Links Module??

Does this mean that all the problems with WF-Links are solved?