Koeneke
plugin or new module?
  • 2008/4/1 20:54

• Koeneke

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/1/30

Dear,

I want to add some functionality to the PiCal module.

Because I'm quite new in XOOPS development, I need some help to get me starting.

I want to add a kind of "I'm going/I'm not going" thing to the calendar module...

Because I don't know what a "plugin" is used for, I don't know if (and how) I should make a plugin, or that I have to rewrite the module to get what I want.

Can somebody explain me what a plugin is, and if I should consider to make one, or rewrite the module...

I hope you understand my question...

Thanks in advance,
Koeneke

jcweb
Re: plugin or new module?
  • 2008/4/1 21:04

• jcweb

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2005/4/25

Hi Koeneke

I want to add a kind of "I'm going/I'm not going" thing to the calendar module...

Did you mean like "I´m coming to an event or not?

Why you did post on the developer website here? My meaning there you find the source of knowledge to the piCal module. Or did you try there and no one answer? Did you search the piCal folder and there the plugin directory? In this case (piCal) a plugin is a more or less a interface to antoher module, example the minikalender can show an entry of this module like a new article from the news module.

andy

Koeneke
  • 2008/4/2 15:42

• Koeneke

• Just popping in

Well,

I posted it here in the first place because I did not knew what the "plugins" were used for... but now you told me they are used for interaction between two modules...
that helps me a lot: now I know that I don't have make a plugin, but that I have to rewrite the module.

I have posted a thread on the Peak website, to know where I should start my development.

Thanks for the information!

beeblebrox
  • 2008/4/2 15:52

• beeblebrox

• Just popping in

• Since: 2008/4/2 1

You need to hack the module.

Anonymous
  • 2008/4/2 16:03

• Anonymous

• Since: