1
freemenn
Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/26 11:41

  • freemenn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 13

  • Since: 2007/4/24


hi,
as i have lot of infos on the home page and the page loads slow i like to know if can i put an Image whyle the page is Loading instead show a blank page? Or a message like "Page Loading Please Wait)I need this only for the home page (when accessing the domain, not the sub pages)
If yes how can i di this?

Thanks a lot

2
freemenn
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/26 23:23

  • freemenn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 13

  • Since: 2007/4/24


nobody can tell me if it is possible??

3
BlueStocking
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?

A link to the page would help us understand what is needed.
https://xoops.org/modules/repository .. It is time to get involved - XOOPS.ORG

4
aph3x
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/27 6:02

  • aph3x

  • Theme Designer

  • Posts: 834

  • Since: 2004/12/26


I don't think you can set different redirect pages, if home page loads slow try setting some cache time for your blocks on that page, usually people edit the system_redirect.html file to suit the theme they are using
Everything I'm not made me everything I am
The Themes

5
slyss
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/27 6:08

  • slyss

  • Quite a regular

  • Posts: 343

  • Since: 2006/1/26


Quote:

freemenn wrote:
hi,
as i have lot of infos on the home page and the page loads slow i like to know if can i put an Image whyle the page is Loading instead show a blank page? Or a message like "Page Loading Please Wait)I need this only for the home page (when accessing the domain, not the sub pages)
If yes how can i di this?

Thanks a lot


hi

i have make an hack to do this...

http://www.xoopsitalia.org/modules/article/view.article.php/c8/42/p0

is in italian language sorry

bye

6
canbula
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/27 6:10

  • canbula

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 42

  • Since: 2006/7/10


I think you want to put a loading message like this:http://boracanbula.orgfree.com

I can explain how it is working:

you put this code just after <body> in theme.html file
<div id='waitDiv' style='position:absolute;left:20%;top:20%;right:20%;visibility:hidden;text-align: center;'>
  <
table width='400' cellpadding='6' style='border:2px solid #336699' bgcolor='#fafafa'>
    <
tr>
      <
td style='text-align:center' bgcolor='#fafafa'>

        <
b>
          <
big>Loading...</big>
        </
b><br>
<
img src='http://www.mysite.com/loading.gif'><br>
Please Wait... 
      </
td>
    </
tr>
  </
table>
</
div>
<
script type='text/javascript'> <!--
        var 
DHTML = (document.getElementById || document.all || document.layers);
function 
ap_getObj(name) { if (document.getElementById) { return document.getElementById(name).style; } else if (document.all) { return document.all[name].style;
} else if (
document.layers) { return document.layers[name]; } } function ap_showWaitMessage(div,flag)  { if (!DHTML) return; var ap_getObj(div); x.visibility = (flag) ? 'visible':'hidden'
if(! document.getElementById) if(document.layersx.left=280/2; return true; } ap_showWaitMessage('waitDiv'1);
 
//--> </script>

and put this code just before </body>
<script type='text/javascript'
<!--
 
ap_showWaitMessage('waitDiv'0);
//-->
</script>
http://www.xoops-tr.com - Turkish Xoops

7
freemenn
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/27 23:43

  • freemenn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 13

  • Since: 2007/4/24


thanks to all for replays.
"canbula" i try this but it does not work.
You can give a look to my website:
www.newsmania.info
Really do not understand whyle this not work.

Thanks for any help/fix

"slyss79" grazie. But is does not work and dont know why.

8
canbula
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/28 3:55

  • canbula

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 42

  • Since: 2006/7/10


I looked at your site but couldn't see any of these codes..are you sure you have added this code in correct theme.html
this method is absolutely working, I tried it many times
http://www.xoops-tr.com - Turkish Xoops

9
onasre
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/28 5:17

  • onasre

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 150

  • Since: 2006/8/12


ithink you shoud use what canbula told you , i see your website and i think you did not use the code correct becose in my tap bar for my browser isee Yelow Erorr this appears when there is erorr on the jave code . so do this

the second code put it in the begen of your theme.html file
and the second code put it after it and try
Whatever Hits You , Never was to Mess you , and Whatever Messed U , Never Was to Hit You.

10
freemenn
Re: Can i Put an Image or Message Whyle The Home Page is Loading?
  • 2007/4/28 13:30

  • freemenn

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 13

  • Since: 2007/4/24


ok it works. I made some confusion with themes in the admin panel

Thanks to all

Login

Who's Online

63 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 63


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Nov 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits