1
kellymank
problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/1 19:19

  • kellymank

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2006/7/23


I have installed XOOPS as a test site for a client and have no problem working with it whatsoever with my development setup. I work with a desktop and laptop running through the same DSL wireless router (Linksys) and I use Firefox and IE for testing them.

When I access the site through my clients router, the page can be accessed, but no images or functionality (ie I cannot log in) is are available.

What am I missing, and where do I start? Any help is GREATLY appreciated!

kjm

2
jensclas
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?

Do a search on firewalls in the faq section - already asked and answered in there. See how you go.

3
kellymank
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/1 22:39

  • kellymank

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2006/7/23


I tried doing a global search and only came up with 5 hits in the FAQ section, none of which seemed to fit the issue.

Are you able to be more specific as to which answer you referred to?

... and thank you :)

kjm

4
homergz
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/1 23:16

  • homergz

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 80

  • Since: 2006/5/21


Try this post:

https://xoops.org/modules/newbb/viewto ... id=208161#forumpost208161

Not sure if this is what you are looking for but it's a good start.

5
kellymank
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/6 17:51

  • kellymank

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2006/7/23


Unfortunately, that suggestion did not help. I have attached two screen caps; one as it appears at the client site, and one as it appears in my development environment.

One note, the screen cap of the correct view is NOT showed from a local (desktop) machine - it is actually hosted and on the internet. That is why I am wondering what is going wrong.


Proper result
Resized Image

What is viewed at client site
Resized Image



Thanks for any other suggestions!
kjm

6
McNaz
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/6 19:35

  • McNaz

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 574

  • Since: 2003/4/21


Looks like your CSS is not loading. Fire up your site at the client in Firefox and bring up the JavaScript console and watch out for any errors/warnings.

It should be easy to catch.

Good luck.

7
skenow
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/6 20:49

  • skenow

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 993

  • Since: 2004/11/17


Check the browser settings - css may be turned off.

8
Arowana
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/6 20:58

  • Arowana

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 323

  • Since: 2004/8/6 2


also check to make sure you are allowing HOTLINKING in your config of your server. might be allowed for local host but not for Ip or domain name
Arowana

9
kellymank
Re: problem with firewall... maybe?!?
  • 2006/11/14 14:10

  • kellymank

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 9

  • Since: 2006/7/23


Problem solved!

You were right in that the hosting provider has something in place preventing hotlinking.

To verify, I created a new domain and had it hosted elsewhere. Works perfectly. Not sure why XOOPS would trigger the server that it was hotlinking - maybe something in the structure - but if someone has that answer, it would be helpful to know.

Thanks for all the help and suggestions.

kjm

Login

Username:
Password:

Lost Password? Register now!

Who's Online

69 user(s) are online (39 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 69


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Dec 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits