tcnet
Hack for Automatic Wordbook Links in News Articles
  • 2006/8/17 5:18

• tcnet

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2006/5/12

This experimental hack searches News 1.44 articles looking for Wordbook 1.16 terms. It will automatically locate, code links and add styling emphasis to any Wordbook terms found in the news article. It can be modified to create links to Wordbook definitions or referral URLs.

The code was copied from Wordbook 1.6 entry.php (line 112 thru 141). I am not a coder, so I can't really develop this much further. I offer it here in hope that someone with more skill will improve it or develop a better method.

Thanks to herve (News 1.44) and hsalasar (Wordbook).
Insert the following code into a copy of news/article.php after line 182 "$bodytext = $article->bodytext();"

//** TCNET HACK News module for Wordbook Glossary links **
//Warning: Experimental Hack! Use at your own risk! Make backups first! 
//News article's with hyperlink text containing glossary 
//terms will be split or completely broken by this hack.

$parts explode("|TERMSON|"$bodytext);

// Retrieve all terms from the Wordbook glossary.
$allterms $xoopsDB -> query"SELECT entryID, term FROM " $xoopsDB -> prefix"wbentries" ));
while ( list( 
$entryID$term ) = $xoopsDB -> fetchrow($allterms ))
{
foreach(
$parts as $key=>$part)
{
// singular
$term_q preg_quote($term'/');
$search_term "/b$term_qb/i";
$replace_term "<span><b><a style='color: #009933; text-decoration: underline; 'href='".XOOPS_URL."/modules/wordbook/entry.php?entryID=".$entryID."' title=' View a definition for ".$term."'>".$term."</a></b></span>";
$parts[$key] = preg_replace($search_term$replace_term,$parts[$key]);

// plural
$term $term."s";
$replace_term "<span><b><a style='color: #009933; text-decoration: underline; 'href='".XOOPS_URL."/modules/wordbook/entry.php?entryID=".$entryID."' title=' View a definition for ".$term."'>".$term."</a></b></span>";

// plural with e
$term $term."es";
}
}