xoops forums

jlm69

Module Developer
Posted on: 2006/1/23 16:51
jlm69
jlm69 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 719
Since: 2002/7/19
#1

No access to register.php on this server.

In 2.2.3 and 2.2.4 if you have the private messaging module installed, and try to register I recieve this message:

403 Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /modules/profile/register.php on this server.

If I uninstall the private messaging module everything is fine. I have had this problem for a while but just figured out how to stop it.

PHP - 4.3.11
MYSQL - 4.0.25 - STANDARD

m0nty

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2006/1/23 17:56
m0nty
m0nty (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 3337
Since: 2003/10/24
#2

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

make sure you give permissions to the anonymous group for the profiles module

jlm69

Module Developer
Posted on: 2006/1/23 19:05
jlm69
jlm69 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 719
Since: 2002/7/19
#3

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

Have given the proper permissions, it only happens if the private messaging module is installed, so it must be a bug.

m0nty

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2006/1/23 19:31
m0nty
m0nty (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 3337
Since: 2003/10/24
#4

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

works fine on all my sites.. both 2.2.3 and 2.2.4 versions :S

jlm69

Module Developer
Posted on: 2006/1/23 23:20
jlm69
jlm69 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 719
Since: 2002/7/19
#5

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

I have 4 sites now running 2.2.4 and all of them if I install the private messaging module no one can register, if I uninstall it, anyone can register. Glad to hear it works for you but if you read the forums I'm not the first to report this, but I'm the first to find that uninstalling the PM module will fix it. But then no PM's on the site.

jlm69

Module Developer
Posted on: 2006/1/24 22:24
jlm69
jlm69 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 719
Since: 2002/7/19
#6

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

After looking at register.php I notice that on line 62 there is a { that doesn't have a } associated with it and on line 229 there is a } that doesn't have a { associated with it.

I don't see how it works at all. I thought if you had a { you needed to close it with }

If I am wrong please someone explain this to me.
If not then it is a flaw in register.php


Now I have 5 sites that will not allow registration if the PM module is installed. But they all work if I uninstall the PM module. And if I leave it deactivated NO registration is poissible, I have to uninstall it.

Thanks,

John

theycallmepj

Just popping in
Posted on: 2006/1/25 0:50
theycallmepj
theycallmepj (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 64
Since: 2004/12/31
#7

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

Also, check the permissions on the actual file, everyone should have at least read permissions
Thanks,
Paul Travis
MASD.info
THEYCALLMEPJ.com

Stewdio

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2006/1/25 1:02
Stewdio
Stewdio (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 1560
Since: 2003/5/7 1
#8

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

Shouldn't have to check perms on the file, it should work out of the box.

I havn't said anything for some weeks, but this niggling little problem has effectively shut me down.
XOOPS Community Support

jlm69

Module Developer
Posted on: 2006/1/26 1:05
jlm69
jlm69 (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 719
Since: 2002/7/19
#9

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

****bump****

m0nty

XOOPS is my life!
Posted on: 2006/1/26 2:39
m0nty
m0nty (Show more)
XOOPS is my life!
Posts: 3337
Since: 2003/10/24
#10

Re: No access to register.php on this server.

Quote:

After looking at register.php I notice that on line 62 there is a { that doesn't have a } associated with it and on line 229 there is a } that doesn't have a { associated with it.

I don't see how it works at all. I thought if you had a { you needed to close it with }

If I am wrong please someone explain this to me.


the opening brace on line 62 is the opening brace for the one on line 229

the situation is a switch() function.. so all inside the switch statement are to do with that particular function.. as in each case = '';