mlb160
Adding banners
  • 2005/11/8 20:51

• mlb160

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/11/5

OK, I am new to this and I've tried searching the forums and FAQs for this answer and I can't find what I need. I am trying to add a banner to my site using the Banners option in my system admin menu. Right now, it has the XOOPS banner across the top. Can someone tell me (1) how to take off the XOOPS banner and (2) how to put up my own? I have one created, I just can't figure out how to get it on the site! Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

gestroud
Re: Adding banners
  • 2005/11/8 20:58

• gestroud

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/12/22

1. To delete all of the XOOPS banners at one time, simply delete XOOPS as a client in your banner admin section.

2. To add banners, first you have to add a new client. For example, say you want to add an Amazon.com banner. You would first add Amazon.com as a client in the appropriate section. It should be the box on the bottom of the screen. Fill in whatever details that you want. The only required entry is the client name.

Once you've done that, you're ready to add banners for that client's account.

You can add banners as either links to a .jpg, .gif, or whatever format it is. You can also supply a banner using HTML or javascripts. I use the HTML function for banners from Commission Junction, Google and Amazon.com

mlb160
  • 2005/11/8 21:03

• mlb160

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/11/5

Thanks! I don't see XOOPS as a client in my banner admin section. Any ideas why? Also, does the jpg file have to be hosted on my server? I'm sorry, I'm an accountant!

gestroud
  • 2005/11/8 21:14

• gestroud

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/12/22

No need to be sorry. I didn't know any of this about a year ago.

No, no idea why XOOPs isn't listed as a client, but you can go ahead and delete any banners that you don't want which are already there. You just have to do it one by one.