damien245
Modules and Xoops 2.2
  • 2005/7/27 22:10

• damien245

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/7/27

I'm just starting to develop a site using XOOPS and it would seem logical to me to use 2.2 for this. Now obviously I know it is RC2 atm and not released as "stable", but my understanding is that it won't be long now before 2.2 is released properly?

My problem is that there doesn't seem to be many modules that actually work with RC2 (therefore probably likewise for the final 2.2) and as I am quite new to XOOPS I haven't got a particularly strong grasp of how module development goes (i.e. how active the module developers tend to be, and how long it may take for there to be a good selection on compatible modules for 2.2).

In general, there doesn't seem to be that many good modules available for XOOPS actually - are there other resource sites that have additional modules besides the ones on here?

In particular, I need modules for the following roles:
Article System - users can submit, but webmaster publishes. Desirable for users to be able to rate articles
Review System - similar to article system really, but idea would be for reviewer to rate the product/service they are reviewing, and perhaps have the review rated by users

Other desirable, but 'optional' modules would include:
Games - not interested in flash stuff, but simple or (multiplayer) turn based games may be good.
Polls - just something to hold a quick and easy poll on the homepage, perhaps allowing users to see results of past polls; ideally would prevent multiple votes from same user, and enforce "login to vote".

I think that's the bulk of what I'm looking for.