LeBlank
Advertising XOOPS ... suggestions/comments
  • 2005/5/15 14:28

• LeBlank

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/4/1 1

Hello all,

I hope I chose the right forum to post this :)

My site, http://www.cyberocity.com, is in the business of supporting Open Source development (in a small way). I have set up several Open Source appliations, and decided on a venue of presenting "Today's Favorite" on a splash page, then transferring users to the days favorite after 30 seconds or so.

We also offer hosting and other PHP/MySQL services to try and support our efforts, so this is a business, but we really would like to help spread Open Source awareness. In our local community it's something fairly new, and we hope to influence people to try Open Source applications as an alternative to the usual custom business site or large corporate solution.

Anyway, I would like to have your comments, opinions, suggestions if you would like to offer anything. I am still learning the best way to do things. But like I said we support Open Source development in general, so please no XOOPS is the BEST flames or criticisms of other Open Source applications ( yeah right! ))

XOOPS should come rolling around on a regular cycle of "Today's Favorite" every week or so. Thanks a lot.

Mithrandir
Re: Advertising XOOPS ... suggestions/comments

Thanks for promoting XOOPS on your site - however, I am a little unsure as to what it is you want us to comment. Can you be more specific as to what we should do to answer your question?

LeBlank
  • 2005/5/15 16:29

• LeBlank

• Just popping in

You're welcome for the promotion of XOOPS. Sorry if i wasn't clear on my meaning ...

I suppose to answer your question I should ask, what was your impression of the splash page, does it seem to make people want to see what is coming next, will it generate interest in the Open Source application that it leads to ...