brigarkee
A real "newbie" question here- Patience appreciated
  • 2005/4/23 18:01

• brigarkee

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/4/10

I'm hoping for some newbie friendly help, I mean on the true basics, but if it's dumb for me even asking this I apologize in advance.
I am building a website where I will have reviews for multiple child products available.
I am trying to find out which of the modules is the best place to do this in, where I can add images as well wrapped with my html. I was originally thinking of placing the reviews in my forum area, but I think that will make the forums very cluttered.

I again apologize if I'm wasting anyone's time here by asking this, I have never used anything close to XOOPS before, and I LOVE what I have seen so far, but I am not knowledgable at all in php or other programming, so I am going the basics and learning as I go.

If I wanted to put something on my main page for instance, (you can see what I mean by going to my website and seeing my empty main page), do I open my theme.html and add php in there, or can I just add my html after the php codes that are already there with the theme I chose?, I use dreamweaver MX.
Is this typically how people add things to their main index page for xoops?

I guess what I am saying is that I would like to stay within my same theme, obviously, for my other pages, and I'm not sure if my edits need to go through that theme.html and if I add a new page to the site, if I just use my theme.html to edit and then rename it to another page? or do I need to learn php to do all of this properly?

Again, I am not knowledgeable in this, so I am totally grateful to any help I can get in keeping my site seamless, I'll happily add new modules (this I know how to do) to be able to do what I am asking above for my product review page.