1
kiwiguy
Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 6:14

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


I managed to add a flash banner to my site but it does not show up just as a red x on my screen

this is the code i used

Quote:
<table align="center" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" bgcolor="transparent" class="bg">
<tr>
<td bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" id="top">
<tr><td object classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" id=index width=1000 height=150 codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.insanityrocks.com/media/flash/logo.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">

<param name="play" value="true">
<param name="loop" value="true">
<param name="bgcolor" value="#FFFFFF">
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE=JavaScript>
<!--
var ShockMode = 0;
if (navigator.mimeTypes && navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"] && navigator.mimeTypes["application/x-shockwave-flash"].enabledPlugin) {
if (navigator.plugins && navigator.plugins["Shockwave Flash"])
ShockMode = 1;
} if (ShockMode ) {
document.write('<embed src="http://www.insanityrocks.com/media/flash/logo.swf"');
document.write(' width=950 height=150 bgcolor="#FFFFFF" quality="high" loop="true"');
document.write(' TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/">');
document.write('</EMBED>');
} else if (!(navigator.appName && navigator.appName.indexOf("Netscape")>=0 && navigator.appVersion.indexOf("2.")>=0)) { document.write('<IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=1000 height=150>');
}
//-->
</SCRIPT><NOEMBED><IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=1000 height=150 BORDER=0></NOEMBED><NOSCRIPT><IMG SRC="nonflash.gif" width=1000 height=150 BORDER=0></NOSCRIPT></OBJECT>

</td>


Where am I going wrong???

2
Mantooth
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 7:34

  • Mantooth

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 189

  • Since: 2004/11/2


this probably isn't the answer you're looking for, but i think the red x means that the url to the flash file is wrong.

3
kiwiguy
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 8:26

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


DOesn't help mantooth as it is the right path to the flash file so I am still in a state of curiosity that it ain't working anybody else have any ideas where i could be going wrong here???

kiwiguy

4
carnuke
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 10:13

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


your file path ishttp://www.insanityrocks.com/media/flash/logo.swf

try it... it loads your flash file in the browser.

I think you may need to check your syntax.

5
kiwiguy
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 11:12

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


when i right click and view properties on it the url property ishttp://www.insanityrocks.com/noimage.gif.

If its a syntax error where is the syntax error i cannot see anything wrong with it..

thanks
kiwiguy

6
kiwiguy
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 11:13

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


Deleted posted twice sorry

7
carnuke
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 11:33

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


Kiwiguy, I just visited your site and your flash logo loaded perfectly in your header.

Between my lousy comments and your hard work, seems like you got it going
At this point I have to say, this is very nice piece of flash. IMHO. Loads on every page change and lasts just long enough to catch attention, but not distract too much.

NIce work. Your site looks real good.
BTW. Can you explain what you did to make the banner work... I simply want to make sure the FAQ is up to date and accurate.

Thanks.

8
kiwiguy
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 12:12

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


DELETED double posted again dam

9
kiwiguy
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 12:15

  • kiwiguy

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 295

  • Since: 2004/4/19


Thanks carnuke i managed to get steered to a theme in the XOOPS library mate called Flash_Test but for your info this is the code that was in the theme.html file for your info



Quote:
<table cellspacing="0" id="top">
<tr><td class="slogan" colspan="2"><{$xoops_slogan}></td></tr>
<tr id="header">
<td id="headerlogo">
<OBJECT classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" WIDTH="500" HEIGHT="110" id="logo" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="<{$xoops_imageurl}>logo.swf"><PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high><PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#FFFFFF><EMBED src="<{$xoops_imageurl}>logo.swf" quality=high bgcolor=#FFFFFF WIDTH="500" HEIGHT="110" NAME="logo" ALIGN="" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></EMBED></OBJECT>
</td>


Looks like it goes between the first <td></td>

So I am sure that you could use this in any theme that you want to put a flash banner into but I think that the one thats in the FAQ is not very easy to understand and does not really answer the question. IMHO.

cheers
kiwiguy

10
carnuke
Re: Flash Not showing???
  • 2005/1/18 12:40

  • carnuke

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1955

  • Since: 2003/11/5


Thanks for that feedback Kiwiguy, I'll take this code and update the FAQ.

Login

Who's Online

256 user(s) are online (149 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 256


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: May 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits