simkin67
The ol' PHP5 blank page thingy
  • 2004/9/1 3:29

• simkin67

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/9/1 3

To test portals and BB scripts/software for use on a future site, I've install apache2triad. Being fairly new to the world of PHP, I just downloaded and installed the latest version, which had PHP5. I did this about 2 weeks ago.

Anyway, I've been playing around with Mambo, e107, Invision PB, punbb, Simple Machines (I like that BB), php-fusion, and now (trying) to get XOOPS to work. What's the easiest way to downgrade PHP5 to PHP4? I've read some posts on the Net about running both (one as a CGI) but I'm not quite up to that task. I'd really like to try Xoops, because I've narrowed my choices of a future portal down to Mambo, e107, or XOOPS based on reviews and feature lists.

Would it be easier to just d/l an earlier version of apache2triad that has PHP4, uninstall the one with PHP5, and install the version with PHP4?

Thanks for the help!

Remember, I'm a newbie so be patient with me

simkin67
Re: The ol' PHP5 blank page thingy
  • 2004/9/1 17:08

• simkin67

• Just popping in

I've been scouring the net for a "simple" solution to removing php5 and putting in 4, but really no luck for windows installations. Since this is only on my laptop for testing portals (or cms packages) and BBs, I think I'm either going to uninstall and put in the apache2triad that has php4, or I'm going to try WAMP5 (www.en.wampserver.com) that supposedly gives you the ability to switch back and forth between the two (4 and 5) in just a few steps. WAMP5 doesn't have as much as apache2triad, but many things can be added on to it as needed. It does have the basics I need though: apache, mysql, and PHP5 (with an add-on for the switch to/from php4).

When I need perl or python, I'll add them :).

BTW, does XOOPS have an calendar module? I don't see anything for it on the demo installation at opencms.com...

Herko
  • 2004/9/1 17:20

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2002/2/4 1