simkin67
The ol' PHP5 blank page thingy
  • 2004/9/1 3:29

• simkin67

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/9/1 3

To test portals and BB scripts/software for use on a future site, I've install apache2triad. Being fairly new to the world of PHP, I just downloaded and installed the latest version, which had PHP5. I did this about 2 weeks ago.

Anyway, I've been playing around with Mambo, e107, Invision PB, punbb, Simple Machines (I like that BB), php-fusion, and now (trying) to get XOOPS to work. What's the easiest way to downgrade PHP5 to PHP4? I've read some posts on the Net about running both (one as a CGI) but I'm not quite up to that task. I'd really like to try Xoops, because I've narrowed my choices of a future portal down to Mambo, e107, or XOOPS based on reviews and feature lists.

Would it be easier to just d/l an earlier version of apache2triad that has PHP4, uninstall the one with PHP5, and install the version with PHP4?

Thanks for the help!

Remember, I'm a newbie so be patient with me

simkin67
Re: The ol' PHP5 blank page thingy
  • 2004/9/1 17:08

• simkin67

• Just popping in

I've been scouring the net for a "simple" solution to removing php5 and putting in 4, but really no luck for windows installations. Since this is only on my laptop for testing portals (or cms packages) and BBs, I think I'm either going to uninstall and put in the apache2triad that has php4, or I'm going to try WAMP5 (http://www.en.wampserver.com) that supposedly gives you the ability to switch back and forth between the two (4 and 5) in just a few steps. WAMP5 doesn't have as much as apache2triad, but many things can be added on to it as needed. It does have the basics I need though: apache, mysql, and PHP5 (with an add-on for the switch to/from php4).

When I need perl or python, I'll add them :).

BTW, does XOOPS have an calendar module? I don't see anything for it on the demo installation at opencms.com...

Herko
  • 2004/9/1 17:20

• Herko

• XOOPS is my life!