Porkspeare
Nuke to XOOPS
  • 2004/7/26 16:56

• Porkspeare

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/7/26

I'm a bit brand new to XOOPS, but I seem to be getting the hang of how it all works. Gotta say i'm liking it alot more than PHP-Nuke.

Which brings me to my question...

Is there anyway of bringing nuke registered members and forums across to xoops?

Cos if I change my site and there isn't there will be alot of crying!

m0nty
Re: Nuke to XOOPS
  • 2004/7/26 17:48

• m0nty

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/10/24

i don't know of any scripts that will do that automatically.. altho that doesn't mean there aren't any, just that i haven't heard of any..

the users is probably the easiest to migrate across as u cud probly do that via a sql dump from the database and edit a few fields heare and there.. (dunno if nuke uses md5 encryption tho or passwords) so that maybe 1 issue..

the forums, i think that all depends on what forum you use and what the structure is as to how to proceed with converting that..

i'm sure there's a few on here who could tell you or help in that respect.. but it's not impossible that's for sure..

intel352
  • 2004/7/26 17:59

• intel352

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/11/23

it's not hard, i could work something up for you, for a nominal fee

fyi, nuke uses md5 password encryption. i have experience with porting nuke users & nukephpbb forums, to XOOPS + newbb.

anything else, such as news, forumnews, downloads, web links, etc, you'd need to tell me, and i'll give you a quote.

otherwise, you could look for a PostNuke script in the downloads section, and use it as a basis to create your conversion script.

i will say, forums are probably the most complex tables to port. the rest is relatively easy

Porkspeare
  • 2004/7/30 8:39

• Porkspeare

• Just popping in

How much are we talking?

I need something to do it pretty quickly and correctly. I
can't afford to make mistakes on the site.

intel352
  • 2004/7/30 11:18

• intel352