Orias
Installing Locally (n00b)
  • 2003/12/5 21:58

• Orias

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/12/5

Hi all,

Super, Hyper, Mega N00b question time!!

I'm new to all this ... and frankly I am baffled! I am trying to get XOOPS installed locally so I can design, edit etc before going anywhere near the net. I have tried to follow the installation instructions, and various posts on here ... but it all went painfully wrong, so I've deleted everything in the hope of starting afresh.

As I understand it, I have to install this Apache thing to simulate my site host? I did this, but then got lost and couldn't figure out what to do next . Can anyone give an idiots (me) guide to getting XOOPS installed locally?

Cheers for any help,
O

Grimoire
Re: Installing Locally (n00b)
  • 2003/12/6 2:13

• Grimoire

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/11/18

install apache
install odbc
install mysql
install php
unzip XOOPS into apache group\apache\htdocs

xoops may, cant recall, make a html folder in htdocs and dump everything in there. if so move everything in the html folder up a level so its in htdocs and delete the html folder

follow the XOOPS docs from there for install

Dave_L
  • 2003/12/6 2:18

• Dave_L

• XOOPS is my life!

• Since: 2003/11/7

I installed BigApache for this purpose. It includes Apache, PHP and MySQL, as well as Perl and some other stuff.

ozboof
  • 2003/12/6 3:53

• ozboof

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/10/28

I am using Ibserver and just un zip the XOOPS package into www folder and install

but its configeration can be different to a real server but most things seem to work ok for testing

MadFish
  • 2003/12/6 4:21

• MadFish

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/9/27

There's a nice installer bundle called Appserv that does all the hard work for you - installs the Apache server, PHP and mySQL for you in one go, removes a lot of headaches.

Then you just install XOOPs to your local Appserv/www/ directory, and away you go.

CBlue