Mithrandir
Re: developed module for employer, might not be used... what would you do?

You are right, Catzwolf. If you have not been hired to do this work and has not been asked to do it (which I misread it to) you do not (as I read it - but I am no legal expert in these areas) have an obligation to turn the code over to the company.

If you had indeed been asked by your supervisor to develop this, I would stand by my previous statement

intel352
  • 2004/5/15 15:40

• intel352

• Module Developer

• Since: 2003/11/23

lol, got a nice discussion running

it was voluntary on my part, no supervisor approached me about it. i said i could get it done, supervisor gave the go ahead, and of course nothing was signed or formalized

also, my 'temp' purpose at the company has nothing to do with creating code, so my guess is that according to what you guys have told me (and assuming the temp agency didn't have a clause to cover exactly this issue), the code is mine

btw, is a module explicitly GNU/GPL since it is created for the xoops2 gnu/gpl system? or is there some other reason?

Mithrandir

A module is GNU/GPL licensed because it is a part of a GNU/GPL system - without which it cannot work.

A problem with your statement, however, is that you approached the supervisor and he accepted that you did it in your working time.

If you were my employee (temp or not) I would not like that when you approach me with a desire to do some work (for which I pay you the hourly wage) you afterwards tell me that I can buy your work.

If you had done it besides your full-time work (or part-time, I don't know) because you had heard of or experienced the problem and without explicit accept by the company, I would agree with the general consent here that it is your code.

I think you would need a more law-proficient person to answer this, it goes over the head of most of us, I think.

intel352
  • 2004/5/15 16:00

• intel352

• Module Developer