Mithrandir
Re: Possible PR in Linux magazine?

Just stating the obvious to be certain that it is perceived in the right way:
1) I am not a core developer - although I am in weekly contact with at least one core dev or Herko
2) I do have a company and try to make a side-by-side living off developing modules, themes, customisations etc. for XOOPS sites

I am not against a contest and I am not against PR in a magazine

However, I do not feel that the contest should be directed at core developers for several reasons:

Basically you are asking for a customisation or adaption of XOOPS to accomodate your wants and needs - a service, which others pay for, I might add.

Involving the core developers as central persons is a bad move, because however appropriate the modifications might be, it will still mean that the current roadmap should be rethought and priorities changed. I have confidence in the XOOPS core dev team to come up with a sensible roadmap, not influenced by outside demands. Of course the core devs should have our (the users') needs and wants in mind, but not if this leads to half-thought out hacks and specific customisations to your needs.

What could be interesting is a direct comparison of CMS's as they are now + how their roadmap is. When you have "weeded out the bad seeds" it could be very interesting to have a group of people work on each CMS (different groups, I mean) to implement your changes both to accomodate you and in order to see the potential and extendability of each CMS - but this should be a task for volunteers/paid developers, not the core team, I think. Also because half of the work in accomodating wants and needs is not done in the core but from specific modules - an area, which lies outside of the core devs responsibility.