1
IShades
Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/20 19:19

  • IShades

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 96

  • Since: 2004/2/20


I really would rather load a flash movie inplace of the top banner and logo area. Is this possible?

2
El_Jordo
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/20 21:02

  • El_Jordo

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 64

  • Since: 2003/4/23


As I understand it, there's no hack necessary. The banner feature already supports Flash. You might have to check the "use HTML" box when you're setting up the banner. I'm not sure of the exact HTML syntax you would use, but I'm sure you can get it working without a lot of fuss.

3
ackbarr
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?

it is even simpler than that. If you look at the 3rd example banner after a fresh install, it is configured like this:

Image Url:http://<XOOPS_URL>/images/banners/banner.swf
AFAIK however, the click action is actually handled by the flash movie itself, and not the "Click URL".

Can anyone else confirm this?

4
IShades
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/20 22:24

  • IShades

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 96

  • Since: 2004/2/20


Thanx for the help guys but perhaps I need to make myself clearer.

When I refer to the banner, I do not refer to the regular advertisement banner. What I meant is that I would live to have a full flash movie going across the whole top.
Not neccesarily just that small banner.

I would like to remove that small banner and simply replace that and the XOOPS logo with a full size flash movie banner around 750 x 80 in size.

I have embdedded the flash movie but for some reason i just get a white screen. I have inputted the proper path for the movie but still the same error.

5
El_Jordo
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/21 1:26

  • El_Jordo

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 64

  • Since: 2003/4/23


One way to do that would be to change the theme.html file to allow a larger banner size and center it, and then remove the regular logo. That would allow you to easily change the header banner as if it was an ad banner.

6
IShades
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/21 3:27

  • IShades

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 96

  • Since: 2004/2/20


Actually I found the answer.
Here it is: If you change the theme.html file it wont effect nothing, but if you go within your templates_C folder and find the template you are using, you can merely modify it there.

All you need to do is merely remove the reference:
<td width="285"><a href="<{$xoops_url}>"><img src="<{$xoops_imageurl}>images/logo.gif" alt="logo" align="middle" /></a></td>


and replace it with:
<td>the html code generated from your flash movie</td>


When you create your flash movie, merely set the banner for percentage / exact fit and it should fit right across the whole top.


7
El_Jordo
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2004/2/21 16:01

  • El_Jordo

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 64

  • Since: 2003/4/23


That might work, but it's generally a bad idea to edit files in the templates_c directory. Look around in Administration > System > Templates and see if it's possible to edit the template there instead. You may have to clone your default template set first.

8
ThePhlexican
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?

I was trying to figure this out too...You simply add the <OBJECT> code to the theme.html file and point the <EMBED> command to the exact location of your logo.swf file like this:

<table align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" class="head_table">
<tr>
<td>

<OBJECT CLASSID="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
WIDTH="778" HEIGHT="96"
CODEBASE="http://active.macromedia.com/flash5/cabs/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0">
<PARAM NAME="MOVIE" VALUE="logo.swf">
<PARAM NAME="PLAY" VALUE="true">
<PARAM NAME="LOOP" VALUE="true">
<PARAM NAME="WMODE" VALUE="opaque">
<PARAM NAME="QUALITY" VALUE="high">
<EMBED SRC="http://thephlexican.com/themes/ps2/images/logo.swf" WIDTH="778" HEIGHT="96" PLAY="true" LOOP="true" WMODE="opaque" QUALITY="high"
PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" />
</EMBED>
</OBJECT>

</td>
</tr>
</table>

No need to mess with the templates_c files at all.

Peace
~Phlex~

9
fredtheedit
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2005/7/18 14:18

  • fredtheedit

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 7

  • Since: 2005/6/3 7


Phlex, IShades,

It's good to see you in the XOOPS world. I have used Mambo, PHP NUKE, POST NUKE, ZOPE, PHPBB, GEEK LOG and a slew of other content managment systems and the truth is XOOPS is about the best and most comprehensive package out there! HANDS DOWN! It just WORKS!! Period!! You don't have to be a rocket scientist to operate XOOPS. "You set it and forget it!" Plain & simple. =0)

Adding a block or new module is smooth! Unlike PHP NUKE or other CMS packages you have to fiddle with code! What a way to mess up your work flow! LOL!

I have Some Extra Flash info for you guys that will possibly help you. I wish you all great success. =0)

For example: Lets say you want to add flash in a block to display on your website you could do it using these different processes:

PLEASE NOTE: YOUR URL (Website Address) TO WHERE YOUR FILE SITS IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT! IT IS CRITICAL TO WHERE YOU UPLOAD YOUR "SWF" FILE ON YOUR SERVER.

EXAMPLE: IF YOU ARE USING A PROGRAM LIKE "ANIM FX", IT INCLUDES AN EXTERNAL TEXT FILE. IT NEEDS IT TO FUNCTION PROPERLY, OTHER WISE YOU GET A BLANK BOX WITH NO FLASH DISPLAY.

SO DROP YOUR "SWF" FILE & TEXT FILE IN THE RIGHT LOCATION. REMEMBER THIS IS CRITICAL!

EXAMPLE: IF YOU START YOUR PAGE WITH "NEWS" IT WILL LOOK LIKE THIS:

HTTP://WWW.YOURSITE.COM/MODULES/NEWS/

GUESS WHAT?

YOU HAVE TO PUT YOUR "SWF" FILE IN THAT SAME LOCATION.

THE FILE WOULD BE UPLOADED TO YOUR "MODULES/NEWS/
SECTION. SO IF YOU HAVE A "SWF" FILE AND AN ASSOCIATED "TEXT" FILE TOO, THEY BOTH GO IN THE SAME PLACE. THEN YOUR
FLASH GRAPHIC WILL WORK GREAT! LOOK CLOSELY AT THE STEPS BELOW AT WHAT THE CODE LOOKS LIKE WHEN YOU INSERT IT INTO A BLOCK.

Step 1: Go to your administration section.

Step 2: Select Blocks

Step 3: Scroll Down To Your "Add Blocks" section

Step 4: Add This Code:

<object classid=clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000
codebase=http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,2,0
width=618 height=50> <param name=movie value=http://www.YOURSITE.com/modules/news/flash.swf>
<param name=quality value=auto low>
<param name=BGCOLOR value=#000000>
<param name=SCALE value=noborder>
<embed src=http://www.YOURSITE.com/modules/news/flash.swf
quality=auto low pluginspage=http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash type=application/x-shockwave-flash
width=618
height=50
bgcolor=#000000
scale= noborder>
</embed></object>


OK LETS LOOK AT THIS CODE BROKEN DOWN SOME MORE.

<object classid=clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000
codebase=http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,2,0
width=618
height=50>

(NOTICE THAT THE "VALUE =" SAYS THE EXACT ADDRESS WHERE YOUR "SWF" FILE SITS)

<param name=movie value=http://www.YOURSITE.com/modules/news/flash.swf>

(SEE THAT ABOVE? THAT IS WHERE YOUR FILE SITS.)

<param name=quality value=auto low>

(ABOVE WHERE IT SAYS "QUALITY VALUE= AUTO LOW" IS IMPORTANT BECAUSE IF YOU SET ALL OF YOUR FLASH FILES TO "HIGH" QUALITY EVERYTHING WILL BE SUPER SLOOOOWWWW! YUK!)

<param name=BGCOLOR value=#000000>
<param name=SCALE value=noborder>

(ABOVE YOU SEE "SCALE value=noboder" THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT BECAUSE YOU WANT IT TO SCALE TO WHAT EVER SIZE YOU SPECIFY. OTHER WISE THE TEXT OR IMAGE WILL LOOK SMALL. IT WON'T SIT RIGHT.)

(NOTICE BELOW THAT THE "EMBED SRC=" SAYS THE EXACT ADDRESS WHERE YOUR "SWF" FILE SITS)

<embed src=http://www.YOURSITE.com/modules/news/flash.swf

(SEE THAT ABOVE? THAT IS WHERE YOUR FILE SITS.)

quality=auto low
pluginspage=http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash type=application/x-shockwave-flash
width=618
height=50
bgcolor=#000000
scale= noborder>
</embed></object>

I hope this somehow helps.

If you use "MIX FX" all you do is use the code and set the width and height to your liking. You also set the address to where the file sits and that can be anywhere. Why? Because files like that are self contained. They don't need an external text file like "Anim FX" does. So your "SWF" file sits where you want it.

"Anim FX" needs to have files sit in the "exact location" you set your start page within Xoops. If you set it to start with a chat module guess what? You would need to upload your "SWF" and "TEXT" files to modules/chat/ and if you start your page with a differnet module like "news" you would need to upload your "SWF" & "TEXT" files to modules/news/.

Then your flash animation will work great!

Edit your "Theme" templates with "Macromedia Dream Weaver".
It works really well. Much better than "Microsoft Front Page" will. You can even get a XOOPS extension for Dreamweaver for free from this super cool placehttp://www.myxoops.com/ to build your own templates from.

Good Luck to all the great XOOP-Sters from around the world!

To all the programers: You guys ROCK!!!! The world of CMS doesn't know that there is a real BEAST out there. XOOPS! Simply put. IT JUST WORKS!!! Period!!

Administration is a dream and if you know how to use a mouse and click on things your GOOD TO GO!!! I needed a group solution when HTML wasn't to friendly on it's own. Not everyone knew HTML but the hero was XOOPS! XOOPS was the best choice! It lets you set admins and other cool things and what's even cooler is a crew like I have can all contribute great stuff without all the coding involved. My Grandma can go in and add her two cents! =0) That is the world of XOOPS! =0)

Thanks so much for great coding. =0)

Sincerely,

Freddy "The Edit" Rivera.

10
Lance_
Re: Has anyone hacked flash into thier top banner section?
  • 2005/7/18 15:26

  • Lance_

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 983

  • Since: 2004/1/12


That was an insteresting and very long post.

But all that is needed is set VALUE="<{$xoops_imageurl}>/flash.swf"> and <EMBED src="<{$xoops_imageurl}>/flash.swf"... and throw that flah file in your theme folder beside the theme.html file.

Sorry for the short post.

j/k
GDL-Web.com :: Website development.
Xoopslance.com::Freelancing and Projects
thelionsden-arena.net:: Clan/League/Ladder Hosting

Login

Who's Online

197 user(s) are online (125 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 197


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Apr 30
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits