jmass
Xoops the right platform for directed content?
  • 2004/2/4 15:55

• jmass

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/12/18

First of all let me say that I am very impressed with Xoops! I am a Domino developer, and have been looking for an open source platform to migrate to. Until now, nothing has come close to Domino. XOOPS however seems very well coded, powerful, and has a great user base.

My concern is in the flexability. I code mostly client centric (read user/group specific) web applications. A client logs in an is presented with only their information tailored to them. Like looking at your credit card statements online. You do not get a list of all of their customers na pick your account, you log in and get your info.

Most of XOOPS seems to be more community oriented. This is great if that is what you want to build. But that is not what I want to use it for.

Are there any modules that are more along the line of filtered content and navigation based on loggin? To begin with I know you can limit what modules can be accesses based on user/group. But would I have to create sepetate module sets for each client/user? I think that their must be a much better way. Any thoughts? Or is this a great product for only a community site?

Jason

Mithrandir
Re: Xoops the right platform for directed content?

XOOPS is great. No question about that in my mind.
Content as in modules mainly revolves around knowledge sharing/community information, but it's really just up to the module writers to come up with more personally tailored information.

Basically, what XOOPS core provides is user authentication, classes for data modification and presentation tools. What the content is, that is up to the modules, which could very well be user-specific.

fatman
  • 2004/2/4 18:49

• fatman

• Friend of XOOPS

• Since: 2003/12/13

Jason, I think it's just a matter of choosing what parts of XOOPS are most useful to you and what parts you don't need to bother with.