pwalter
Modifying Module Blocks Administration details
  • 2004/1/26 17:14

• pwalter

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/26

I am a newbie to xoops. I am having a curious problem with Blocks Administration - whenever I try to change the details for a particular Group (webmasters, registered users, etc), then hit the "submit" button, it changes the details for ALL groups!. I tried this with both IE 6.0 and NS 7.1. Perhaps I do not understand the screen. What am I doing wrong?

FroSor
Re: Modifying Module Blocks Administration details
  • 2004/1/27 16:56

• FroSor

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/27

I have simmilar problem with the blocks. I want to have a "welcome block", like the "Welcome to XOOPS official website!" on the top page at xoops.org. The problem is when making a custom block it with no exceptions turns up under the blocks for registerd users, and I want this block to be visible for anonymous users and not members. I could not figure out which fields to manually cange in the DB. Anyone any idea?

kahumbu
  • 2004/1/27 17:13

• kahumbu

• Documentation Writer

• Since: 2003/8/23

To edit group permissions for blocks, go to System Admin -> Groups. From here, you can set group permission per block. You do not need to go to the DB just to change block permissions.

To edit block details, go to System Admin -> Blocks. This will lead you to the Blocks Administration. You cannot set group permissions here. The dropdown menu at the top is used to see which blocks are accessible to which groups and not to set permissions.

pwalter
  • 2004/1/27 18:01

• pwalter

• Just popping in

• Since: 2004/1/26

kahumbu,
Thank you very much for responding. However, if you can not modify the attributes of blocks assigned to a particular group here, then why are the "side", "weight", and "visible" attributes settable, with a "submit" button? What purpose is intended here?

Mithrandir