epiqmail
HTML Links - How to?
  • 2003/12/6 7:07

• epiqmail

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/12/6

Hello. I am new to XOOPS and pretty much figured out most of the basics. I need to know how I add a hyperlink that shows up on the main menu that will open another web site - not just a web page.

I tried the TINY CONTENT module and it only allows you to add static pages. I need to add a simple link to another site and have it display on the main menu. Is this possible?

Thanks!

Scott

CBlue
Re: HTML Links - How to?

Iframes will do it! If the other site allows itself to stay in frames.

CBlue

Use a script like the one herehttp://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/iframescroll.htm in an html page that you can add to tiny content, free content or cjay content and create a link for it in your main menu.

epiqmail
  • 2003/12/6 7:54

• epiqmail

• Just popping in

Thanks for the info! I tried the iframes deal and it works great!

Not to be a pain in the ass - Is there code to open an HTML link into a separate browser window for those apps that you cannot use the iframes code with?

With most of the external pages, I dont have the option to add any additional code to them.

Basically what I am asking is can I add a button with the Tiny Content module or a main menu button that will open a hyperlink in a new window?

Thanks again in advance.

CBlue

As far as I know, using target="_blank" works for your link tags if you put it into the a href tags in the menus. That opens up another window for your link.

I hope this is what you were asking about!

epiqmail
  • 2003/12/6 22:18

• epiqmail

• Just popping in

Ok, but what do I use to create the button? Can I create a button under the main menu or do I need to use something else. Can you please give me advise on how to create the button from the admin section. I am new to XOOPS and dont understand it too well yet.

Thanks in advance.

CBlue