WMurray
1st time install
  • 2003/10/31 21:10

• WMurray

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/10/31

Hey guys, I've installed XOOPS on my local Apache server to test, but now I'd like to install on my web host. I've discovered that my hosting company requires all PHP scripts to be in the /cgi directory. Can someone give me an overview of how the installation should be modified. I'm new to PHP and XOOPS and trying to learn as I go. Thanks for your time!

jlm69
Re: 1st time install
  • 2003/10/31 22:17

• jlm69

• Module Developer

• Since: 2002/7/19

Have you tried it on the host and had problems or did you just find this out and now you don't know what to do?

If you haven't tried it on your host, try it. I believe what your host is saying is that if you have any php scripts that need to write to files you need to put in cgi directory, and they probably told you that you need to end files with ".php.script". If this is right then install it normally and it will work. (mine did) The only thing I can't get to work is
xoopsgallery but that is because the host doesn't have Imagemagik or netpbm installed and they won't let me put netpbm in a folder and execute the program, like I could do on my server if I needed to.

Hope that helps,

and there is a photo gallery that doesn't need those two programs to work. I think it is called myalbum-p

WMurray
  • 2003/10/31 22:21

• WMurray

• Just popping in

I uploaded all of the files to my /web (Public html) directory. Anytime I tried to call a .php file, my machine asks me if I'd like to open it, or download it. If I click open, nothing happens.

WMurray
  • 2003/10/31 22:25

• WMurray

• Just popping in

Actually, the "Save or Open" problem was mine. it was a file association with IE on my local machine. now, when I call a .php file it displays the file source in the browser

jlm69
  • 2003/10/31 22:53

• jlm69

• Module Developer

• Since: 2002/7/19