xoops forums

madraver

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/4/3 17:26
madraver
madraver (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 9
Since: 2002/3/8 1
#1

Interactive Web based Telnet

Does anyone know of any interactive web based telenet scripts out there? At the moment I am using cgitelnet.pl. It is not interactive... therefore quite limited.

Thank you in advance for your help. I have found everyone here to be quite a help in a crunch...

dlh

Posted on: 2002/4/3 19:37
dlh
dlh (Show more)
Posts: 182
Since: 2002/2/20
#2

Re: Interactive Web based Telnet

What's shakin MR?

I don't know if this is what you r looking for, but check out...

http://www.gimpster.com/php/phpshell/index.php

Take care,

Dan

madraver

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/4/3 21:42
madraver
madraver (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 9
Since: 2002/3/8 1
#3

Re: Interactive Web based Telnet

Thanks.. I hadn't seen that one yet... but unfortuantely... That script is another non-interactive shell access script.

In order to be an interactive script it would most likely be a java script.

JM2

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/4/4 8:35
JM2
JM2 (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 2
Since: 2002/1/2 2
#4

Re: Interactive Web based Telnet

telnet is NOT secure. use SSH2.
also don't use web based.

ghart

Just popping in
Posted on: 2002/4/8 1:02
ghart
ghart (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 1
Since: 2002/4/5 2
#5

Just wonderin...

Why would someone want a web based telnet client?

ChadK

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2004/7/13 15:11
ChadK
ChadK (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 242
Since: 2004/7/9 1
#6

Re: Just wonderin...

To make changes to the site from places like work or something? That's what I want it for. I'm trying out http://www.gimpster.com/wiki/PhpShell now.. seems to work great but would like it integrated with XOOPS as a module.
Posted on: 2004/7/13 15:32
DonXoop
DonXoop (Show more)
Posts: 1171
Since: 2003/11/27
#7

Re: Just wonderin...

You are much better off using SSH and connecting to a shell instead of within XOOPS itself. Sometimes what you need to fix is preventing you from connecting from a module. Not to mention being 1000% more secure than telnet. Same for FTP, SFTP is far more secure.

Assuming you run Windoze you can use a free SSH client "putty" among many others: putty site

ChadK

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2004/7/13 15:34
ChadK
ChadK (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 242
Since: 2004/7/9 1
#8

Re: Just wonderin...

I know SSH is more secure but the problem is, firewall. ;) Perhaps it's simply not a good idea.
Posted on: 2004/7/13 15:44
DonXoop
DonXoop (Show more)
Posts: 1171
Since: 2003/11/27
#9

Re: Just wonderin...

Firewall at your end or the host server? If they firewall SSH then they don't allow you to connect anyway. Is it a *nix server or windows?

update:
FYI, running SSH to your listed website seems to work from here. Looks like version 3.4p1 on Debian. Your host account login (not xoops) should let you in.

SSH is very handy and can do a lot of tricks like letting you into places that are otherwise blocked from your current location.

There is also a java app I remember from long ago that gets you in over http. Defeats the whole purpose of security though.

ChadK

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2004/7/13 18:11
ChadK
ChadK (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 242
Since: 2004/7/9 1
#10

Re: Just wonderin...

Yah, firewall on my end (I'm at work) and Java is a no-go as well at this location.