Elena123
Language selection
  • 2003/6/27 8:35

• Elena123

• Just popping in

• Since: 2003/6/24

I would like to let users choose the language, exist some way to make it?
I've seen an old post that speaks about the hack
"languageonthefly" but it was for XOOPS 1.0.

Something for XOOPS 2?

Elena123
Re: Language selection
  • 2003/6/28 11:13

• Elena123

• Just popping in

No one can answer me?

Chado
  • 2003/6/30 2:15

• Chado

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2003/6/6 7

There have been several questions recently about using the language hack by Adi Chiributa in XOOPS 2.x. It was originally hacked for XOOPS 1, but I tweaked it just a bit and have been able to get it to work in my test environment using the two languages that I will be targeting (Japanese and English). It seems to work just fine. (I am not a programmer though so I may be missing something) Just remember, as the author says, this is only for the interface and not content. You can get the hack here from ModsCentral.

In the author's readme he gives instructions on how to install the hack. Basically everything works except for the hack to the XOOPS/include/common.php. Instead of including the hack at the place where he said, include it just BEFORE the “include site-wide lang file” section:

// ############ Include function for language selection ##############
include(XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/modules/language/common/functions.php");

// #################### Include site-wide lang file ##################

The SPACE character that is part of the default setup shows up strange in the block if you are using the flags, so you will have to change that by selecting edit on the admin blocks page.