xoops forums

JCash

Just popping in
Posted on: 2011/12/4 12:49
JCash
JCash (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2011/2/22
#1

Profile module - Customization

hi

I would like a form to add users without unused fields.

Example : I do not ask to my users to enter AIM, YIM, MSN, ... However this fields are still displayed on admin side.

How to simplify this form ?

Thanks

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/12/4 18:47
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10444
Since: 2004/4/23
#2

Re: Profile module - Customization

You can set the preferences on which fields to display.

Go to the "Fields" Tab, and edit a field there - select "No" in "Show in registration form"
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.9 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

JCash

Just popping in
Posted on: 2011/12/4 22:13
JCash
JCash (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 66
Since: 2011/2/22
#3

Re: Profile module - Customization

Thanks for reply :)

But, I talked about Admin side, not registration form.

I'm the webmaster of the site, my client is simply admin :
- for me no matters, I well understand why there are unuseful fields in this admin form
- but it is more complicated to explain it to the admin

A (limited) thought : Xoops is a very impressive tool but somewhat limited for commercial use if you are not a developer. But I guess I can not have the cake and butter

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/12/4 22:34
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10444
Since: 2004/4/23
#4

Re: Profile module - Customization

Quote:
A (limited) thought : Xoops is a very impressive tool but somewhat limited for commercial use if you are not a developer. But I guess I can not have the cake and butter

Well, everything can be improved, it's only question of resources

But first, let us know what exactly do you need.

Also, if this is not high on our priority list, you can always sponsor some new development, by paying a developer to develop it, and once approved by the Core team, it could be included in the future.

-----------------------

On a funny note - this is my message # 5,000 posted on XOOPS! I am obviously spending too much time on the Forums!
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.9 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

aerograf

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 6/1 14:55
aerograf
aerograf (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 172
Since: 1/7 19:01
#5

Re: Profile module - ReCaptcha

Added the use of ReCaptcha to the standard version 1.89 without changing the xoops configuration files. Keys are entered in the admin panel. No keys will not work.
ReCaptcha is installed only in the registration form.
https://github.com/aerograf/profile_new

Mage

Core Developer
Posted on: 6/1 16:29
Mage
Mage (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 167
Since: 2009/8/2 1
#6

Re: Profile module - ReCaptcha

This is a very good idea but reCaptcha already works with the profile module. Just use xoops 2.5.9.

aerograf

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 6/1 16:36
aerograf
aerograf (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 172
Since: 1/7 19:01
#7

Re: Profile module - ReCaptcha

ReCaptca works in all versions. Just asked to do that would be to enter the keys through the admin panel, rather than editing the files. Although you need to edit once. But the request is satisfactory, can someone need it ....

Mage

Core Developer
Posted on: 6/1 16:54
Mage
Mage (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 167
Since: 2009/8/2 1
#8

Re: Profile module - ReCaptcha

You're right, all versions of xoops offers it. This is the v2 which is new in xoops 2.5.9 ....

The configuration of the captcha should not be done in a file. We will have to be able to configure this in the administration of xoops. This possibility will be integrated in xoops 2.6.

https://github.com/XOOPS/XoopsCore25/issues/220

aerograf

Not too shy to talk
Posted on: 6/1 17:04
aerograf
aerograf (Show more)
Not too shy to talk
Posts: 172
Since: 1/7 19:01
#9

Re: Profile module - ReCaptcha

While implemented in this form