11
Dante7237
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/7 16:10

  • Dante7237

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 294

  • Since: 2008/5/28


Simple access permissions as applied to any module works.
Multiple levels could be achieved by multiple instances w/different names.

12
xoobaru
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/7 16:31

  • xoobaru

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 494

  • Since: 2010/12/2


Quote:

Webmaster has access, but the module does not show up on the module's permission area for other groups.


The above would apply to any number of installed/renamed instances. How would you assign any given instance to a group?... becomes the question.

13
davidsless
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/7 22:37

  • davidsless

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 49

  • Since: 2006/10/5


Thank you all for suggestions.

The use we want to make of the chat module is specifically for the development of a new test site.

We want the chat to be in a block that will appear at the bottom of every page. This is so that the groups doing development can make comments on the design as it is developed. The problem with shoutbox is that only the webmaster group can use it. Other groups can see it but not contribute. Very frustrating!!

I'll have a look at the ajax module and see if that will work.

Thanks for all your help so far.

14
xoobaru
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/7 23:47

  • xoobaru

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 494

  • Since: 2010/12/2


David,
XIM has the footerbar, a content block and all groups were able to access it when I used it. You have to specify the footerbar in the pregs. Like Mamba says it is a messenger popup style. Do not remember if it was one to one, or one to many in its usage scope.

You have to get the latest one. I think its 1.02.

Culex: If you are out there, can you post a url of the latest version of XIM for 2.5.5?


15
irmtfan
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/8 3:57

  • irmtfan

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 3419

  • Since: 2003/12/7


@davidsless:
Quote:

only the webmaster group can use it. Other groups can see it but not contribute. Very frustrating!!

No.
Let me explain you about the Shoutbox module.
Shoutbox just has block for shouts. It has not main so accessing thru module is not prepared by the developer.

You can set permissions to that block for each group.
just go to system -> groups -> Block Access Rights

But It seems you did it before:
Quote:

I can set the permissions in the block access area, but this allows certain groups to see the chat block but not participate in the chat. Very frustrating!


if they seee block they should be able to "post".
do you have any errors? check the file permissions and module preferences.
This module is very simple.



sidenote: It would be very easy to add a module permission for shoutbox.
open xoops_version.php change this:
// Menu
$modversion['hasMain'] = 1// irmtfan change 0 to 1


But as i said it is wrong because this module has no main.

@Dante7237 :
That Ajax seems a nice module. I will test it


16
davidsless
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/14 2:28

  • davidsless

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 49

  • Since: 2006/10/5


Hi all,

Thanks for all your input. For the time being we have abandoned the chat option. Once there is a module that can deal with permissions, we will test it again.

Anyone contemplating doing this?


David

17
xoobaru
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/14 13:42

  • xoobaru

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 494

  • Since: 2010/12/2


I think there might be some kind of secret national security order that prevents them from developing an effective chatroom module. And I really don't blame them for not replying here as they were probably slapped with a gag order to not reply also.


18
irmtfan
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/18 2:32

  • irmtfan

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 3419

  • Since: 2003/12/7


shoutbox should work without issues.
just i had to disable it recently because of resource usage was too much. other than this it is a good module.

19
davidsless
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/18 3:14

  • davidsless

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 49

  • Since: 2006/10/5


Yes! does seem to be working, once I changed the setting as you suggested.

Thanks

David

20
moss
Re: chat module for xoops
  • 2013/2/18 9:44

  • moss

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 38

  • Since: 2009/10/28


I use "aChat" module : http://xoops-demo.niluge-kiwi.info/modules/mydownloads/index.php

I don't know if it is what you search, but I like it, very simple... ajax working good... unfortunately it is not updated since a long time...

This module should be a blue move...

You can find it here : http://sourceforge.net/apps/trac/xoop ... /releases/0.23.2?rev=1833

Login

Who's Online

51 user(s) are online (30 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 51


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Aug 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits