1
timgno
Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/19 16:58

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Icons in modules admin not displayed if is custom, this is a bit negative for customization, should have priority those modules rather than those of the media folder.

We forced to create another appropriate code for modules or you change the class in this sense?

2
Mage
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/19 17:25

  • Mage

  • Core Developer

  • Posts: 203

  • Since: 2009/8/2 1


Quote:

timgno wrote:
Icons in modules admin not displayed if is custom, this is a bit negative for customization, should have priority those modules rather than those of the media folder.

We forced to create another appropriate code for modules or you change the class in this sense?


I do not understand! You put your icons in media folder.

3
timgno
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/19 18:36

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Quote:
I do not understand! You put your icons in media folder.


Now I don't know what you decided, but a few years ago when it came out the version 2.5.5 we talked via email with mamba and he told me not to weigh the Frameworks folder for the module icons, you must create a folder in modulename/icons/32, so all modules can have their own icons.

Given what you say, we can send in the media folder without any problems?

If so, why in other modules I have seen folders icons/32, and what are they for?

4
Tarik
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 1:44

  • Tarik

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 170

  • Since: 2010/2/3 1


what i think he is talking about how xoops load the icons used in navigation render
i think its better that way because xoops check if they exist in /media folder if not he check in /module/icons/32 so you can custom it

EDIT: btw the 32 works fine but the 16x16 icons dont load in the info boxes genrated by module admin
Some people like what you do,
-- some people hate what you do,
---- but most people simply don’t give a damn.

5
Mamba
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 2:53

  • Mamba

  • Moderator

  • Posts: 11256

  • Since: 2004/4/23


The goal for us is to have a full set of "standard" icons, that can be used consistently for all XOOPS modules. This way the user is not confused by different icons that represent the same action (like Edit or Delete or View).

The current set is based on Crystal Icons, and I hope, will be able to provide the whole set as a sprite.

If the user (or theme designer) chooses, they can provide another set of icons, that would be placed in a theme folder, as Irmtfan suggested in another thread, and XOOPS would use them, instead of the default set.

The most important issue is that all modules will use the same set of icons, instead of each module using something different. This is similar to a theme - users can select any theme they want, and all modules will use it in the front end.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

6
irmtfan
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 4:40

  • irmtfan

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 3419

  • Since: 2003/12/7


yes. as i stated somewhere it would be the best solution if we could leave core and modules untouched for all kind of customization. so with an update you can safely just copy paste the new core/module codes.
IMO all front side customizations (templates/css/js/images/icons/ even translations) should/could be done in themes. here the priority would be:
1- themes/THEME/modules/MODULE/icons/32 (IF EXIST for specific theme)
2- themes/default/modules/MODULE/icons/32 (IF EXIST for default(all) themes)
3- CORE260/media/xoops/images/icons/32 (IF NOT EXIST get from the core)

the issue is i still cannot see any standard for images | icons.
even a simple decision for "images" and "icons" folder locations are not consistent even in core 260

see:
CORE260/media/xoops/images/icons/32

then in system module:
CORE260/modules/system/images/icons

but in other modules:
CORE260/modules/page/images
CORE260/modules/page/icons

CORE260/modules/logger/images
CORE260/modules/logger/icons

just a simple standard for the location is required. images/icons OR /images and /icons.

personally i prefer to see all front side materials (templates(html files
)/css/js/images/icons/translations) in MODULE/templates folder. it will reduce the number of folders in each module root significantly and will make life easier for a webmaster like me that want to set a tight permission for his designer. (then I just need to define a ftp access to MODULE/templates and then for some other customization to themes folder)



7
timgno
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 14:52

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


In modules for custom icons just add in admin/menu.php as follows:

$adminmenu[$i]["title"] = _MI_MODULENAME_ADMENU1;
$adminmenu[$i]["link"]  = "admin/index.php";
$adminmenu[$i]["icon"] = 'madulename_dashboard.png';


but if you want to use the icons in the media folder, as follows:

$adminmenu[$i]["title"] = _MI_MODULENAME_ADMENU1;
$adminmenu[$i]["link"]  = "admin/index.php";
$adminmenu[$i]["icon"] = 'dashboard.png';


No need to add more code php of what already exists in the moduleadmin class, for the modules

8
Tarik
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 15:00

  • Tarik

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 170

  • Since: 2010/2/3 1


Quote:

timgno wrote:
In modules for custom icons just add in admin/menu.php as follows:

$adminmenu[$i]["title"] = _MI_MODULENAME_ADMENU1;
$adminmenu[$i]["link"]  = "admin/index.php";
$adminmenu[$i]["icon"] = 'madulename_dashboard.png';


but if you want to use the icons in the media folder, as follows:

$adminmenu[$i]["title"] = _MI_MODULENAME_ADMENU1;
$adminmenu[$i]["link"]  = "admin/index.php";
$adminmenu[$i]["icon"] = 'dashboard.png';


No need to add more code php of what already exists in the moduleadmin class, for the modules


you can already do that its just
$adminmenu[$i]["title"] = _MI_MODULENAME_ADMENU1;
$adminmenu[$i]["link"]  = "admin/index.php";
$adminmenu[$i]["icon"] = 'nameofpic.png';


then it runs the tests
CORE260/media/xoops/images/icons/32 (IF EXIST get from the core)
modules/MODULE/icons/32 (IF EXIST get from MODULE)
but then if it doesnt exist it display an error image when it should have a default xoops icon instead imo.
Some people like what you do,
-- some people hate what you do,
---- but most people simply don’t give a damn.

9
timgno
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 15:03

  • timgno

  • Module Developer

  • Posts: 1504

  • Since: 2007/6/21


Quote:
Tarik wrote:
then it runs the tests
CORE260/media/xoops/images/icons/32 (IF EXIST get from the core)
modules/MODULE/icons/32 (IF EXIST get from MODULE)
but then if it doesnt exist it display an error msg when it should have a default xoops icon instead imo.


Yes Tarik! is true...!
(IF EXIST get from the core)
otherwise
get from MODULE

but if the same name of icons in module exists in the core, then changed it's name to module

10
Tarik
Re: Icons in modules admin
  • 2013/1/20 15:11

  • Tarik

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 170

  • Since: 2010/2/3 1


yes, but still this test only on 32x32 icons but 16x16 icons for the info boxes in module admins are only got from core media folder.
Some people like what you do,
-- some people hate what you do,
---- but most people simply don’t give a damn.

Login

Who's Online

66 user(s) are online (34 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 66


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Aug 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits