xoops forums

RiazShahid

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2012/11/24 8:59
RiazShahid
RiazShahid (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 254
Since: 2007/6/26
#1

Slow Xoops 2.5.0

Hi, When I installed xoops 2.5.0 it worked fine, but with the passage of time, it seems going down and down, here are the timers;

XOOPS took 4.366 seconds to load.
XOOPS Boot took 0.238 seconds to load.
Module init took 0.038 seconds to load.
XOOPS output init took 4.074 seconds to load.
Module display took 0.000 seconds to load.
Page rendering took 0.014 seconds to load.

Can any one tell, how to speed it up? and what is wrong?

Thanks

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2012/11/24 10:52
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10962
Since: 2004/4/23
#2

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

The times seem to be slow, but it's hard to identify the problem, if we don't know:
- the previous times
- what server do you have
- what else is on the server

For example, if you're on the shared server, somebody else might be over-using the resources, and then you have less memory or CPU, and your XOOPS is slower.

You could run a Database repair to make sure that your tables are correct.

Then you should look into logs, to see what is going over there.

If you're on a shared host, check with them if they see any anomalies.
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

RiazShahid

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2012/11/24 11:14
RiazShahid
RiazShahid (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 254
Since: 2007/6/26
#3

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

Mamba! thanks for being always at help.
There is nothing wrong with the server. I use Dream Host, its pretty one, as no down time observed on other domains hosted there.
Let me know how to run database repair?

Anonymous

Posted on: 2012/11/24 11:56
Anonymous
Anonymous (Show more)
Posts: 0
Since:
#4

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

Also check debug. I have had problems with an error in a script causing delays before. This could be caused by a server upgrade...

Other experience is crowded cache folders can slow down a xoops site after time passes. It's good to flush cache once in a while.

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2012/11/24 12:08
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2268
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#5

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

XOOPS output init is heavily related with blocks rendering. Try to deactivate blocks until you isolate the slow one. Perhaps you should consider removing the problematic block or at least, using cache on it. Looking at the debug "Queries" tab may also help you identify the problem.

RiazShahid

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2012/11/24 13:17
RiazShahid
RiazShahid (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 254
Since: 2007/6/26
#6

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

I have 9 modules installed, and I am not using cache for any one of them, would it be a reason?
On home page I have 133 queries, does it also affect loading speed?

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2012/11/24 14:12
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10962
Since: 2004/4/23
#7

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

Quote:
On home page I have 133 queries, does it also affect loading speed?

Sometimes it's not the number of queries, but one that is really slow. So check which one is the slowest, and you might need to address it.

To repair tables, go to Admin/Maintenance, and in the first box, under "Tables maintenance", select all tables, and in the second box select "Repair tables" and click on the "Send" button.

(In the future, we'll need to change the name of the button to "Submit")
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

RiazShahid

Quite a regular
Posted on: 2012/11/24 14:33
RiazShahid
RiazShahid (Show more)
Quite a regular
Posts: 254
Since: 2007/6/26
#8

Re: Slow Xoops 2.5.0

So, you also got some thing to learn from here, :)
I will try it out