xoops forums

tedsmith

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/5 19:27
tedsmith
tedsmith (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1151
Since: 2004/6/2 1
#1

Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Hi

Is there a captcha module or facility in XOOPS 2.4.4? I am using PHP 5.2.14.

I've used Xoops for one of my sites since 2004 but in recent years I've been bombarded with loan companies and spammers registering accounts and filling their profiles with links and texts to their viagra sites and loan companies! And yes, I have got "activation required by user" set, I have got a list of blocked username types and e-mail domains and comments have to be approved by me.

Other than users having to wait for me to manually authorise a user account, Captha must be the next best thing? But XOOPS 2.4.4 seems to lack a CAPTHA setting.

Ted

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/5 19:46
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10948
Since: 2004/4/23
#2

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Just update to XOOPS 2.5.3 - there are several Captchas to choose from...
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

tedsmith

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/5 20:52
tedsmith
tedsmith (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1151
Since: 2004/6/2 1
#3

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Hi Mamba

Thanks for the guidance. I have been pondering the upgrade for several months but had been putting off, but I went for it just now from 2.4.4 to 2.5.3 and everything seems to have gone OK so far! Very impressed with the changes - well done.

Now I just need to find where the CAPTCHA settings are as they are not presenting themsevles to me....?

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/10/5 21:32
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10948
Since: 2004/4/23
#4

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Set recaptcha in /class/captcha/config.php, and details in: config.recaptcha.php
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

timgno

Module Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/6 9:10
timgno
timgno (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 1504
Since: 2007/6/21
#5

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Quote:

Mamba wrote:
Set recaptcha in /class/captcha/config.php, and details in: config.recaptcha.php


could improve this as I have done by inserting two fields in preferences to change or add private key and public key, or is a safety issue?

tedsmith

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/6 15:45
tedsmith
tedsmith (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1151
Since: 2004/6/2 1
#6

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Thanks for the tip Mamba.

I tried all of that but it did not work until I realised that with this version of Xoops you need to install the Profile module (https://xoops.org/modules/repository/s ... file.php?cid=101&lid=1949). Having downloaded and installed that, I now have a CAPTHA in y registration page.

Thanks a lot

Ted

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/6 21:48
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2268
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#7

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Quote:

tedsmith wrote:
Thanks for the tip Mamba.

I tried all of that but it did not work until I realised that with this version of Xoops you need to install the Profile module (https://xoops.org/modules/repository/s ... file.php?cid=101&lid=1949). Having downloaded and installed that, I now have a CAPTHA in y registration page.

Thanks a lot

Ted


NO NO, Official profile version is 1.61 and is delivered with the core package. Do not use other versions please.

redheadedrod

Home away from home
Posted on: 2011/10/7 1:36
redheadedrod
redheadedrod (Show more)
Home away from home
Posts: 1296
Since: 2008/2/26
#8

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Sounds like before we get a 2.5.4 version the profile module should be updated or verified that the newer versions by wishcraft work well and include the latest.

Rodney

timgno

Module Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/7 10:09
timgno
timgno (Show more)
Module Developer
Posts: 1504
Since: 2007/6/21
#9

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

Quote:

trabis wrote:
NO NO, Official profile version is 1.61 and is delivered with the core package. Do not use other versions please.


And if I use this, what are the risks to the security module having added a basic pack with a class to change my preferences to add the key?

'private_key' => $GLOBALS['xoopsModuleConfig']['private_key'],
    
'public_key'  => $GLOBALS['xoopsModuleConfig']['public_key'],
    
'theme'       => $GLOBALS['xoopsModuleConfig']['recapcha_theme'],

trabis

Core Developer
Posted on: 2011/10/7 17:59
trabis
trabis (Show more)
Core Developer
Posts: 2268
Since: 2006/9/1 1
#10

Re: Is there any CAPTHA facility that will work with XOOPS 2.4.4

@timgno,
I did not understood what you said but, that piece of code is getting configs, not setting them.