xoops forums

bjuti

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/1/29 15:41
bjuti
bjuti (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 871
Since: 2009/1/7 2
#21

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Actually, it's Serbian, but characters (and the problem) is the same. Maybe the problem is in tinymce? I'll try to Google it, coz I haven't try it with DHTML.

edit: I see that this problem is in all TinyMce editors on every CMS. Still, I dunno how to resolve it.

some links:
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=181502

It's about entities variable 323, scaron. Where to fix that in TinyMce?


edit 2:

I've found some entities in tiny_mce_src.js. There is few scaron's there, now is the question: What to change or add?

edit 3:
I've found it! :)
in tiny_mce_src.js and tiny_mce.js search for 'scaron' and 'Scaron' and remove it, and it's pairs, like this '352,Scaron,353,scaron,'.

It works for me :)

Now is the question: How to replace &scaron and &Scaron in WHOLE database using phpMyAdmin? :)

Tnx :)

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2010/1/31 23:08
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#22

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Try with replacing textfields as follows:
UPDATE xoops_bb_posts_text
SET post_text
=(REPLACE (post_text'š''ลก'));

Test in local or have a good backup!

bjuti

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/2/1 9:37
bjuti
bjuti (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 871
Since: 2009/1/7 2
#23

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Tnx, but where to do this? (I'm a little db dumb ) Is it in myPhpAdmin?

ghia

Community Support Member
Posted on: 2010/2/1 10:17
ghia
ghia (Show more)
Community Support Member
Posts: 4954
Since: 2008/7/3 1
#24

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Yes, to be repeated for all tables and their text fields.

bjuti

Just can't stay away
Posted on: 2010/2/1 10:19
bjuti
bjuti (Show more)
Just can't stay away
Posts: 871
Since: 2009/1/7 2
#25

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Tnx, I'll try :)

adium

Just popping in
Posted on: 2011/2/1 4:29
adium
adium (Show more)
Just popping in
Posts: 99
Since: 2005/1/18
#26

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Having this same problem with Korean characters...FOR MY ENTIRE SITE!!!! Starting to hate XOOPS!

Mamba

Moderator
Posted on: 2011/2/1 6:54
Mamba
Mamba (Show more)
Moderator
Posts: 10779
Since: 2004/4/23
#27

Re: upgrade problem with Croatian characters

Quote:
Having this same problem with Korean characters...FOR MY ENTIRE SITE!!!! Starting to hate XOOPS!

Sorry to hear about your problems, but this can happen in any CMS, if you have different formats.

Have you change the format of your content in the database to UTF-8?

It seems like that's the issue that you have.

Which version of XOOPS do you use?

What changes did you do to your installation?
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs