TobiB
Installation help
  • 2010/12/5 1:50

• TobiB

• Just popping in

• Since: 2010/12/5

I am new to XOOPS so I do not know what went wrong.

I downloaded the latest version 2.5 and installed the files according to the Installation PDF. I set all the permissions after verifying the install with the checksum.php. I deleted the checksum files, moved the 2 xoops folders to the root level, along side public_html, and began the installation.

Th installation would not proceed beyond the first screen. I clicked the "Next" button several times and each time the browser behaved as if something was happening but I did not go any further, no error message, no error in the Error Log.

No "extra" files were uploaded, no additional language files or modules, just the bare installation files.

Any ideas as to what I did wrong or what I now need to do will be appreciated.

TY

Mamba
Re: Installation help
  • 2010/12/5 2:02

• Mamba

• Since: 2004/4/23

Welcome to XOOPS!

What PHP version are you using? What server? Apache?

This is really strange!

Try to move the files /xoops_lib and /xoops_data back to the original location, run file check again and try to install again

Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

TobiB
  • 2010/12/5 13:51

• TobiB

• Just popping in

I followed your advice and was able to get to the database connection page but there is no place to enter my database name.

My database name is of the form "loginname_databasename" and so is my username.

I tried creating a database named "loginname_xoops" but it was not recognized. I have multiple databases in my hosting account so I can't understand how the installation program can identify the correct database.

ghia
  • 2010/12/5 16:47

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

the database connection page has nothing to do with the database, but with the database server, which is mosttimes located on the same server as where your files were placed to.