1
sova
Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/13 13:15

  • sova

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 149

  • Since: 2010/4/13


How ICMS to convert the to XOOPS?
my Icms: ICMS 1.1 final
i.m.p.r.e.s.s cms
?

2
kaotik
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/13 16:39

  • kaotik

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 861

  • Since: 2004/2/19


Hello sova
Welcome to Xoops!

I'm not aware of any migration script for icms to xoops..sorry.
Do you have a lot of information in your current site that you want to preserve?

There might be a solution:
There are quite a few modules that work in icms and xoops. You might be able to migrate module data from a icms install to xoops through a database export/import. This isn't an easy solution.
Regarding user data (login, etc) there isn't any solution that I'm aware of, maybe someone else knows of something?

3
bjuti
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/13 20:19

  • bjuti

  • Just can't stay away

  • Posts: 871

  • Since: 2009/1/7 2


That's great idea for next major Xoops realase. That script should be included in in Xoops instalation. Also some modules could have options for import content from Wordpress, Joomla etc (publisher, smartsection, articles, xnews)...

4
ghia
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/14 8:18

  • ghia

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 4953

  • Since: 2008/7/3 1


I think you should proceed as follows:
- Install a local internet server on your PC eg XAMPP
- Restore your ICMS site to your local PC
- If it is running you could try by simply following the XOOPS upgrade procedure for from 2.0.x to 2.4.4
(Since ICMS started from XOOPS 2.0.18, there is a chance that this blunt approach may work)
- If successful, repeat on live server.

One issue that I think may arise is the passwords. In XOOPS they are MD5 encoded in the database. It is possible that ICMS uses another system. In that case you might use the change password function for all the users or extend the XOOPS password verification to have it the ICMS way (there is an example on this forum for such an hack).

5
sova
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/15 7:37

  • sova

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 149

  • Since: 2010/4/13


Hello.
I use the module backpack, I was able site Information enter to my XOOPS.
One problem not resolved!
ID Password entered, Does not work.
passwords is wrong.

6
Mamba
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/4/15 9:13

  • Mamba

  • Moderator

  • Posts: 11254

  • Since: 2004/4/23


You can ask XOOPS to reset your password (use the "Forgot password" option)

Or add yourself as a new user, and then in phpMyAdmin set yourself as Admin.

Another option is to take the encrypted password from the new user (using phpMyAdmin), and paste it to your Admin account. Then login with your old name, but with the new password.

7
lucidlee
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/5/6 14:54

  • lucidlee

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 33

  • Since: 2004/10/21


I was going to xgrade my icms experiment to xoops 2.4.4 too - just not yet.

Unfortunately I changed the db password because I couldn't recall it. Now, presumably because of the security provision storing the database connection parameters somewhere outside of the mainfile, I seem to be really locked out. That upgrade has moved up the priority tree.

Looking around in phpmyadmin I see that icms consists of a second db piggybacking the original xoops install and the xoops db seems to be carrying all of the module stuff as well as the original user table.

Perhaps reverting to xoops is little more than deleting the icms db from a backup, copying the modules over to a new xoops directory, running the xoops upgrade, then loading the module specific tables back and running the module update

Its pretty brave but I may have to try it if there are no better ideas.

Lee
Lee
-----------
Complexity? Its just lots of simple things connected in lots of simple ways...

8
aph3x
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/6/18 21:28

  • aph3x

  • Theme Designer

  • Posts: 834

  • Since: 2004/12/26


Any solutions on this? I'll have an attempt tonight tho my version of lcms is different
Everything I'm not made me everything I am
The Themes

9
trabis
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/6/18 22:32

  • trabis

  • Core Developer

  • Posts: 2269

  • Since: 2006/9/1 1


I have a script to convert block positions from icms 1.0
I'm afraid there are many changes in latter versions wich make a migration very difficult.

10
aph3x
Re: Converted of ICMS to XOOPS
  • 2010/6/18 23:38

  • aph3x

  • Theme Designer

  • Posts: 834

  • Since: 2004/12/26


Block positions are not important at all , users tables on the other hand...
Everything I'm not made me everything I am
The Themes

Login

Who's Online

57 user(s) are online (28 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 57


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Aug 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits