badcase
Re: Installer Fails To Go To Step 6
  • 2009/8/13 22:37

• badcase

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/3/1 1

well i just found out this new host uses the cgi version of php which i have never worked with before and im guessin it is messing everything up it seems even doing a simple phpinfo() is now a tedious task.

badcase
  • 2009/8/14 0:02

• badcase

• Just popping in

ok got it working now for those that use PowWeb as there host you need to create a folder in your accounts root directory named "phpsessions" and then edit your php.ini by adding the line
session.save_path = "/home/users/web/xxxx/pow.xxxxx/htdocs/phpsessions"
replacing the path with yours

Mamba
  • 2009/8/14 0:07

• Mamba

• Since: 2004/4/23

I'm glad to hear that you were able to resolve the issue!!!

And thank you for reporting back, and sharing the solution.

badcase
  • 2009/8/20 12:42

• badcase

• Just popping in

whoops that should be
session.save_path = "/home/users/web/xxxx/pow.xxxxx/phpsessions"
you want it in a non web accessible directory not in your htdocs directory :P

Sikandar
  • 2009/11/12 14:26

• Sikandar

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/5/19

Hi,
What are the settings we need to do in order to XOOPS working on a shared hosting as we can't make changes in php file. I will appreciate assistance.

thanks

ghia
  • 2009/11/13 0:51

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

Quote:
we can't make changes in php file
What do you mean by that?
Did you set the write permissions for the required directories and files as stated in the release notes?

Sikandar
  • 2009/11/13 7:36

• Sikandar

• Just popping in

Hi,
Thanks for reply. Let me explain my problem in more detail. On step 5 Database connection when I am trying to move to step 6 it is not going to 6 but refreshing the same page. I talked to hosting guys and they came up with the following,