valimaggi
Structure and relational model of the XOOPS database
  • 2009/8/7 9:47

• valimaggi

• Just popping in

• Since: 2009/8/4 6

(I couldn't find any better subforum for this question)

Hello, I'm Mikko from TUT (Tampere University of Technology), Finland.

I'm doing my thesis work and part of it got to do with XOOPS-based webdatabase for research data. One part of that is to analyze the database used. I'm talking about reverse-engineering the database tables back to relational and eventually conceptual models. I can't find anywhere any kind of documentation about database XOOPS uses. I can use MySQL to see what tables are in the database but can't figure out anything much further from that.

So my question is, do developers have any documentation about the database structure and its development (conceptual and relational models). Or is there anyone who I can contact to and ask further about this things? (if the documentation is completely missing)

I'd be very grateful if someone can help me on this.

Best regards

Mikko V

ghia
Re: Structure and relational model of the XOOPS database
  • 2009/8/7 11:48

• ghia

• Community Support Member

• Since: 2008/7/3 1

valimaggi, Welcome to the XOOPS forum!

I'm affraid there is not much documentation about these things. XOOPS is like an organic growth out of PHPNuke and has been extended during almost 10 years by several developers. The various alterations in the database, were done mostly out of practical need and not so much out of conceptual or relational thinking. And if they where, these concepts were not so much discussed, nor documented.

I think the only thing lerft is reverse engineering: following the queries. All sources are available and included in the downloads. For the core, most relations have to do with modules and user(group)s for dealing with preferences and permissions.