1
Anonymous
mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 20:43

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Hi guys,

Need a bit of help - can't see what I'm doing wrong

I've installed xampp in c:\xampp (default location with Vista). Installation is fine ashttp://localhost/xampp brings up the expected content.

I've copied my site's files to c:\xampp\htdocs\mysite and the xoops_lib and xoops_data folders are inside document root, i.e:

c:\xampp\htdocs\mysite\xoops_data
c:\xampp\htdocs\mysite\xoops_lib

Database created and populated, and since its on a local machine the username is "root" and there no password set.

http://localhost/mysite brings up a white screen. No error messages about database connections, etc.

I'm thinking that the paths are set incorrectly in mainfile.php

I have them set as follows:

xoops root path:
define( 'XOOPS_ROOT_PATH', 'C:\xampp\htdocs\mysite' );

xoops_lib:
define( 'XOOPS_PATH', 'C:\xampp\htdocs\mysite\xoops_lib' );

xoops_data:
define( 'XOOPS_VAR_PATH', 'C:\xampp\htdocs\mysite\xoops_data' );

xoops virtual path:
define( 'XOOPS_URL', 'http://localhost/mysite' );

I'm logged into Vista as admin so folder permissions aren't the issue (and yes, I've checked!).

What have I done wrong (or forgotten to do!)?

TIA

2
Mamba
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 20:54

  • Mamba

  • Moderator

  • Posts: 11366

  • Since: 2004/4/23


Did you define the XOOPS_TRUST_PATH :?

define("XOOPS_TRUST_PATH"XOOPS_PATH);
Support XOOPS => DONATE
Use 2.5.10 | Docs | Modules | Bugs

3
Anonymous
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 20:56

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


Yep - didn't think I needed to post that one!

4
ghia
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 21:56

  • ghia

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 4953

  • Since: 2008/7/3 1


At the install of XAMPP, you must run one time the setup_xampp.bat file from cmd.
To start your site execute (double click) mysql_start.bat and then apache_start.bat. For stopping the site execute first apache_stop.bat and then mysql_stop.bat.

Could you see if a fresh install of XOOPS (in eg the site2 subdirectory of xampp/htdocs/)is possible?

Otherwise use phpMyAdmin, to create a database and a database user, assign the user to the database and give him all the rights. You can then use this database and user in the credentials of mainfile.php.

5
stefan88
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 22:01

  • stefan88

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 1086

  • Since: 2004/9/20


Hi,

Any debug errors from xoops?

Any errors in server logs? (c:\xampp\apache\logs\error.log) or something like that...

You may turn php error logging (also to file) in php.ini or php5.ini depending on the version.

..

6
Anonymous
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/11/30 23:27

  • Anonymous

  • Posts: 0

  • Since:


@ghia and @stefan88

MySQL and Apache are running fine.

I added a password to db user "root" and got the "unable to access database" error. I am confident that it's not an issue with the db connection; changing the root pasword gives a db error and the xampp control panel says apache and My SQL running.http://localhost/xampp gives the expected content.

I think it's to do with the xoops_data folder and either the path or the permissions; this is what we'd say to users whose white screen has this when looking at the source code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<
HTML><HEAD>
<
META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=windows-1252"></HEAD>
<
BODY></BODY></HTML>


It's as if the XOOPS content of the page isn't being passed to the browser.

Keep going guys.... all help/advice welcome.

@ghia
Yes, I'll do a clean install of XOOPS 2.3.2a via xampp tomorrow evening.

7
stefan88
Re: mainfile.php settings with xampp
  • 2008/12/1 7:58

  • stefan88

  • Community Support Member

  • Posts: 1086

  • Since: 2004/9/20


Hi

Quote:
I added a password to db user "root" and got the "unable to access database" error


You added it to the mainfile too ... And it is spelled ok ...:


Quote:
// Database Hostname
// Hostname of the database server. If you are unsure, "localhost" works in most cases.
define( 'XOOPS_DB_HOST', 'localhost' );

// Database Username
// Your database user account on the host
define( 'XOOPS_DB_USER', 'root' );

// Database Password
// Password for your database user account
define( 'XOOPS_DB_PASS', '?????' );



Any luck with error logs?
Try changing localhost to 127.0.0.1 (once I had problem with corupted hosts file)

There is a bat file in MySQL folder of xampp if you need to reset the database pass.

..

Login

Who's Online

174 user(s) are online (106 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 174


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits