Alan-A
Re: Xoops Licence Keys - Over a mild coffee :-)
  • 2008/6/21 11:48

• Alan-A

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/2/17

Automatic updates may be a good thing in event of, for example, security problems.

However, as an administrator and developer, I need to be able to determine who else (i.e. which user groups) get to see the information that an update is required (I want to approach my clients and not have them come running to me). I also need to have the ability of postponing an update as long as I want. (e.g. till I know it's reasonably bug free).

I do not think XOOPS could allow itself the mess that the Mozilla people have. If I have a crucial Moz. plugin (lets say the calender for Thunderbird), after an update to the main application (Thunderbird) my plug-in may be automatically disabled for days, or even weeks if the plug-in developer is busy, until a compatible update has been released. Whilst this may be acceptable for trivial plug-ins, it is a disaster for anyone wanting to install a 'mission-critical' plug-in such as a calender.

To translate this problem back to a CMS scenario, I could not accept the risk of an important module (say my forum) being automatically switched off because of a compatibility issue.

Before letting an automatic CMS update take place, I need to know reliably which modules are going to be incompatible with this update, so that I can decide whether I am prepared to do without these modules.

Alan

vamptrix
  • 2008/6/21 14:31

• vamptrix

• Theme Designer

• Since: 2008/5/3 1

Well Alan, maybe upgrades should only be possible when all modules are already certified, so that an upgrade is impossible when these modules that are active at that moment aren't certified. So you won't have the risk of having your forum switched off.
I used to use this account, but no longer.

Alan-A
  • 2008/6/21 15:01

• Alan-A

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2004/2/17

Vamptrix,