LifeMatrix
Getting additional MySQL databases?
  • 2007/8/30 11:21

• LifeMatrix

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/8/24

I am a XOOPS newbie and I've been reading the Installation Instructions and I have a couple questions about the following:

Quote:
It assumes you already have a working environment, that is either LAMP or WAMP.

Quote:
...already have a place to run together the web server Apache, the database manager MySQL and the scripting language PHP, either on a Linux or a Windows platform, either on your local machine or on a hosted remote server.

There are still numerous hosting services with hosting plans that do not offer all of the above. (And even then, sometimes these programs are rather outdated.)

Questions:

1) On a host with free hosting plans (such as zendURL.com), is it possible to create and manage additional MySQL databases independently of using the Cpanel? I'm talking about something I could upload and install on my own. Couldn't I just install phpMyAdmin on a host to make additional databases?

Many free web hosts only provide 1 MySQL database and, even then, there is sometimes a strict size limit. If a particular plan comes with 2 GB of storage and only one 10 Mb MySQL database, I'd prefer to take better advantage of the storage space.

2) Does XOOPS use the MySQL database to store all or most of its data? Or, can it be set up so that it only uses MySQL to index the data and store most of the content outside of the database? (Sorry... perhaps I just don't grasp how MySQL works?)

3) About how many MB in size is the MySQL database for a typical small/medium (about 50 members) Invision Forum website? I'm asking for a guestimate...

4) Is it possible to set up MySQL, PHP and/or Apache on a free web host (such as Yahoo Geocities) when none of these services are provided in their free plan? Again, I'm talking about something you could install on your own.