glogo
trouble with userinfo.php
  • 2007/5/13 16:15

• glogo

• Just popping in

• Since: 2007/2/22

Hi

Has anyone noticed that calling this page invokes a particularly inefficient script which tends to use up a lot of cpu time? My host has a rather low time-out for processes and whenever I click on any link to show userinfo my whole site goes down while the MySQL server reboots.

I am new to XOOPS and know very little about php-mysql.
Using 2.0.16 on Apache 1.3.37 with php 5.1.6 and MySQL 4.1.21.

I had been able to fix this at one point by de-activating some modules when I noticed a fatal error. The only way I was able to get it to even load to report that much was to first click on the user menu "edit profile" button, from there then go to the "view profile". If I click on user profile first, the script times out and I get an ugly grey screen telling me I have been very, very bad and used up more than 20% of the cpu capacity. That screen lasts for about 6-8 minutes and the whole site goes down, including other folders with flat files, which is rather disastrous.

I thought I had gotten this fixed, then it started again. So, I was trying to edit system_block_user.html and replace
<a href="<{$xoops_url}>/user.php"><{$block.lang_youraccount}></a>
for
<
a href="<{$xoops_url}>/userinfo.php?uid=<{$xoops_userid}>"><{$block.lang_youraccount}></a>

That seemed to work for a few minutes. Then I wanted to change something and the whole thing got discombobulated and refused to work at all. I could not access my site and had to disable the user menu. After disabling the user menu, all was well. Anyway, it was a "dirty" fix, but I need to get the site in production soon, so I figure, okay, we will sort this later. But now I notice that some script that has to do with userinfo.php is still causing an overload.
After the server times out and reboots, I can access the page, no problem and it does not give any fatal error, just the usual notices and so on.