1
trspice
Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 16:32

  • trspice

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 193

  • Since: 2007/3/24


I would like to have a checkbox within the 'Add New Block' form that gives the the option to turn off block title for selected blocks. I still want to be able to enter a title since it identifies the block in the block list.

Please see the image as an example
Resized Image

The option wouldn't just remove the text but block out the entire div so there would not be a gap or the style of the div showing.
There's nothing but science....
The Reggae Album

2
Lance_
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 16:36

  • Lance_

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 983

  • Since: 2004/1/12


There is a way to code this in your theme.html .

Search the forums a bit, you will find. Or someone else can post the links.
GDL-Web.com :: Website development.
Xoopslance.com::Freelancing and Projects
thelionsden-arena.net:: Clan/League/Ladder Hosting

3
davidl2
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 17:07

  • davidl2

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4843

  • Since: 2003/5/26


By using some logic in the theme - it's possible to control the title, and if it even appears.

4
Herko
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 17:12

  • Herko

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4238

  • Since: 2002/2/4 1


To add my bit to the unfolding mystery of showing blocktitles in the admin page but not on the user-end:

the logic you need to create in your theme.html is this:

if $block.title starts with anything but [dnd] show block title.
Else, do not display.

Herko

5
trspice
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 19:59

  • trspice

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 193

  • Since: 2007/3/24


Thanks for the replies but I don't know how to write the logic suggested.
There's nothing but science....
The Reggae Album

6
davidl2
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 20:50

  • davidl2

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4843

  • Since: 2003/5/26


There's a few tricks on this around - but here's one.

here

7
trspice
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 21:52

  • trspice

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 193

  • Since: 2007/3/24


David, thanks. The hack does remove the title but now I have blocks in admin with title 'none' and I have to click edit to figure which is which. This is half the hack I want.

The logic suggested by Herko seems to be what I need since XOOPS will take the command from the text in brackets but then in admin I will see the text following. If only I knew how to write such code.
There's nothing but science....
The Reggae Album

8
davidl2
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 22:18

  • davidl2

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4843

  • Since: 2003/5/26


I may have misunderstood this - but I think if you name your block, for example:

"Advertisement none"
"Picture none"

You will see no heading - but will know that the block is "Advertisement" or "Picture" from the admin end.... I think it simply looks for "none" and does not print the title.

9
davidl2
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/30 22:22

  • davidl2

  • XOOPS is my life!

  • Posts: 4843

  • Since: 2003/5/26


Another possibility: here

10
trspice
Re: Seeking a hack!
  • 2007/3/31 1:00

  • trspice

  • Not too shy to talk

  • Posts: 193

  • Since: 2007/3/24


David, I greatly appreciate your assistance. You are correct that I just needed to put - none - after all the titles and it won't show on the pages but does in the admin.

Though i would still like to see an option to do this added to the add new block form. Maybe the core group will consider it as it seems to be a popular request. (based on the links you posted)

Many thanks
There's nothing but science....
The Reggae Album

Login

Who's Online

71 user(s) are online (48 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 71


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Aug 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits