banesto
AJAX
  • 2007/1/28 0:51

• banesto

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/1/24

I've been working with XOOPS for more than 2 years now, i've done some work with drupal too and a little with wordpress.

I still like xoops, because i easily can make a module and it'll work without problems, unlike drupal which has hooks and you are limited in actions you want to succeed in.

Wordpress is generally aimed at blogging so it does the job perfectly, but when it comes to integrate something more serious than one php page, it's getting hard, so is making plugins which basically are intended to bring more possibilities to posts/comments/pages and cannot be considered as stand-alone modules.

BUT both drupal and wordpress use AJAX, which makes user experience so much better! it's almost like pleasure! XOOPS seems to me very old-fashioned, although i love it for development freedom and stability i can count on, unlike drupal.

I suggest implode AJAX tools heavily into core!

redirect messages -> ajax
comments -> ajax
pm -> ajax
ETC.
make it more up-to-date, WEB 2.0, dynamic

and add effects.
where's my red bull!

domineaux
Re: AJAX
  • 2007/1/28 3:13

• domineaux

• Quite a regular

• Since: 2002/9/29

There is a lot more going on than meets your eye. We've had a great discussion over the past couple days on the implementation of a tabbed content script in the Xoops.(like on Yahoo.com homepage)

There are a lot of sharp competent people around here, but not hanging around to answer newb questions for the most part.

Like yourself I've messed around with several CMS in the past couple years.

I don't focus on any one best CMS package for my users. I use what fits the need best, which I can build fast.

----------------

I agree the XOOPS needs a facelift, the forums are dowdy looking, the search is from the dark ages. There is still a lot of interest in XOOPS by some very competent devs.