invertigo7
Help With Creating a Module
  • 2006/12/13 13:24

• invertigo7

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/7/1 1

I've been using XOOPS on a couple of different sites for a while now, and I feel pretty comfortable with how most things work. However, I'm extremely new at trying to make a module, and maybe I'm in way over my head, but I have a question.

I have created a very basic module called "squad". So far I don't have any blocks or anything, and I don't have an admin page. I just browse to www.mysite.com/modules/squad and it displays the data. The problem I'm having is that I can only view the module when I'm logged in as a user who is a webmaster. I know how to assign groups access rights to modules in the control panel. I have set up my news module, content module, etc to be accessible by all groups and they work fine. However, my module does not show up on the groups page as a module I can assign rights to. How do I make it so my module shows up there so I can grant access permissions? If this doesn't make sense let me know and I'll try to clarify.

I'm really sorry if this is posted in the wrong place, but I can't find any basic newbie guides for making a mod anywhere, and the dev forums don't seem to be visited very much.

Thank you all in advance!

Mithrandir
Re: Help With Creating a Module

Have you read the module development guide on the dev wiki?

http://dev.xoops.org/modules/phpwiki/index.php/ModuleDevGuide

especially the part about xoops_version.php
http://dev.xoops.org/modules/phpwiki/index.php/ModVersion
can be useful.

it is not said very explicitly, but for the module to be recognised by XOOPS as a module with front-side pages, you have to put
modversion['hasMain'] = 1;

in your xoops_version.php (then update the module) - then it will show up in groups management and you can assign module access permissions.