Anonymous
Protector 2.57
  • 2006/12/1 13:03

• Anonymous

• Since:

Hi,

I've downloaded and installed the latest version of the Protector module and read the FAQ. My problem is that I can't get the code in the README file to "take" when I past it into mainfile.php

I'm a complete newb at this but can follow instruction. Trouble is I think that the instructions in the README are flawed.

The README file says:

Quote:

README says:

After XOOPS Protector is installed, edit your mainfile.php like this:
define('XOOPS_GROUP_ADMIN''1');

define('XOOPS_GROUP_USERS''2');

define('XOOPS_GROUP_ANONYMOUS''3');

[
color=ff0000]include( XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/modules/protector/include/precheck.inc.php' ) ;[/color]
    if (!isset(
$xoopsOption['nocommon']) [color=0000ff]&& XOOPS_ROOT_PATH != ''[/color] ) {
        include 
XOOPS_ROOT_PATH."/include/common.php";
    }
    [
color=ff0000]include( XOOPS_ROOT_PATH '/modules/protector/include/postcheck.inc.php' ) ;[/color]

If the blue colored part is different from your mainfile.php, don't mind it.

I've selected that part of the code which starts:

define('XOOPS_GROUP_ADMIN', '1');

and ends:

include( XOOPS_ROOT_PATH . '/modules/protector/include/postcheck.inc.php' ) ;

and copied it to mainfile.php overwriting the original three "define groups" lines. I deleted the square brackets and the stuff inside 'em (even I know know that!).

Remembering to set the rescue password first.....I uploaded the amended mainfile.php (having set the CHMOD to 777 first!) and then visited my site.

I got the white screen and was asked for the rescue password. This didn't work, so I restored the original mainfile.php (backups are great, aren't they?!) and got back in. When I checked the rescue password in the Protector module it looks like my original 9-letter/4 number password had been overwritten by something at least twice as long.