1
diddly
How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/13 21:55

  • diddly

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 32

  • Since: 2006/3/28


I'm not sure if this topic has been covered if yes please point the right way.

I have a top page with several different modules and their respective blocks shown throughout the page. One inconsistency I noticed is each block had its default of font, different from the next. This causes the site to look messed up and unappealling. Does anyone a solution to solve this?

Thanks.

2
Bassman
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/13 22:19

  • Bassman

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1272

  • Since: 2003/5/23


Does it still happen if you switch themes?

If so, it's probably been coded into the module. Not good practice but it does happen.

3
diddly
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/21 11:08

  • diddly

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 32

  • Since: 2006/3/28


No, it stays as it is no matter the template is changed. It seems each modules embeds its own CSS files and the file is hard-coded into these php files. It's tedious to have to go and modify for each module.

4
Quest
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/21 11:43

  • Quest

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1034

  • Since: 2005/11/19


A few modules do have their own .css file but not that many and most which do have their own .css aren't their to change font styles but for more specific reasons generic to the module itself. Do not know what blocks or modules you are having problems with but there are a couple of places you can look.

Yourtheme/style.css

body { font: ;}

and/or

td#leftcolumn div.blockTitle {font: ;} Check this for all locations-right and center .blockTitle, eg;
td#rightcolumn div.blockTitle {font: ;}

Lastly: Check the block template to see if it has been coded into the template.

Quest

5
diddly
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/22 22:12

  • diddly

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 32

  • Since: 2006/3/28


I followed your suggestion and here's what I got. I noticed the body tag is the only one with font definition:
>>>>
body
{
    
font-familyVerdana,Arial,Sans-serif;
    
margin7px;
    
background#CBD2DC;
}

td#leftcolumn div.blockTitle
{
    
padding5px;
    
color#191970;
    
font-weightbold;
    
margin-top0px;
    
margin-right0px;
    
margin-left0px;
    
font-size10px;
    
background-color#BFD6E6;
    
margin-bottom5px;
    
padding-left18px;
    
background-repeatno-repeat;
    
background-positionleft;
    
background-imageurl('images/jel_plus.gif');
    
backgroundurl(images/tile_back.gif);
}
td#leftcolumn div.blockContent
{
    
padding2px;
    
line-height120%;
    
line-height120%;
}

<<<<<<

The above is the Theme Style Sheet. This is from the HTML file

>>>>>>>

Here is where the code with the font I want

<td class="menu_top">
        <!-- 
Start Custom Top Navigation -->
        <
a href="http://torero.vecino.com/index.php"><span lang="en">H</span>ome</a> | 
        <
a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/popnupblog/"><span lang="en">Trading Journal</span></a> | 
        <
a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/newbb/"><span lang="en">T</span>rading Forum</a>  | 
        <
a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/smartsection/"><span lang="en">T</span>rading Articles</a> | 
        <
a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/"><span lang="en">T</span>rading Chart downloads</a>

        <!-- 
End Custom Top Navigation -->
        </
td>


And below is the incorrect font.

<div class="blockTitle">Top Downloads</div>
          <
div class="blockContent"><ul>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=5">@ER2.tik</a> (19)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=7">@EMD.tik</a> (11)</li>

      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=9">@TY.tik</a> (8)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=6">@YM.tik</a> (7)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=4">@ES.tik</a> (7)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=2&lid=8">INSTRUCTIONS</a> (6)</li>

      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=2">@EC.tik</a> (6)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=3&lid=11">Bar Countdown Time...</a> (6)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=3">@NQ.TIK</a> (4)</li>
      <
li><a href="http://torero.vecino.com/modules/mydownloads/singlefile.php?cid=1&lid=10">@US.tik</a> (4)</li>

  </
ul></div>


I see some codes calling the style sheet but not sure what code to put in the bottom part to homogenize the font. Any help would be great.

6
Quest
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/23 13:41

  • Quest

  • Friend of XOOPS

  • Posts: 1034

  • Since: 2005/11/19


Could you post a link to your site? Seeing this would be much faster to help. I tried the Newbie Trader Lounge link but it is closed so we can't see what you are talking about. I am sure there is a simple fix but for me, without seeing it I'm affraid I can't tell where to affect the fix. As there are several possible solutions but of course only one real solution.

Quest

7
diddly
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/30 20:15

  • diddly

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 32

  • Since: 2006/3/28


Sorry, I brought it down for maintenance the weekend you tried to view it. Try it again now. If you take a look at the left side with blocks, they're all in different fonts from different modules. I was hoping there would be a master CSS to control over all the modules when the blocks are called. Has anyone thought of this?

8
wizanda
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/9/30 20:23

  • wizanda

  • Home away from home

  • Posts: 1585

  • Since: 2004/3/21


If you need to this in a hurry ever get web-developer plugin for firefox
This allows you to see your webpage with each and every CSS tags name next to it.
If you can't find anything in the CSS file as i had to with soapbox for instance...
it showed me where the weird CSS called pub17 I then found in the index.php of the module...
yet that extension helpped loads bit heavy for a firefox though...as it has loads of function also like that..
So only use it when i need to find all CSS tags in a page displayed next to everything

9
diddly
Re: How do I make text in block from different modules show only one font?
  • 2006/10/1 13:38

  • diddly

  • Just popping in

  • Posts: 32

  • Since: 2006/3/28


I´ll check it out, thanks for the tip.

Login

Who's Online

194 user(s) are online (111 user(s) are browsing Support Forums)


Members: 0


Guests: 194


more...

Donat-O-Meter

Stats
Goal: $100.00
Due Date: Mar 31
Gross Amount: $0.00
Net Balance: $0.00
Left to go: $100.00
Make donations with PayPal!

Latest GitHub Commits