AlexSolo
Which Modules to install
  • 2006/3/8 17:57

• AlexSolo

• Not too shy to talk

• Since: 2006/3/8 1

This is my first time with ANY cms. I am building this site for my son's team.
They want to be able to:
1)Keep private certain sections of the website from competetive teams.
2)Be able to assign updatability to certain pages to different people in the organization. (sub-admins)
3)They want to create a mailing list.
4)They want to be able to moderate membership, to keep competators from accessing the private pages.
5)they would like to have a photo gallery (private).
6)Blog and forums capability.
7)They want to tie into cafepress.
8) Web Calendar.

I curently have XOOPS 2.0 basic installation.
What modules would you recomment (names and creator please)
that will give me this functionality for them. should I upgrade?

I am not at the design stage, just want to get all the modules installed and find a good theme to match their sport (swimming).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I had the choice of php-nuke, postnuke, and XOOPS preinstalled be my isp. I chose Xoops!

Kumonryu_Kid
Re: Which Modules to install

Seeing as no-one else has had a go at this, allow me:

1)Keep private certain sections of the website from competetive teams

Any and all sections of the site can be kept private. When users Register they join a group called registered. You can then create a new group of users called "Private", and add the users you know are on the team to this group. You can then assign "module access rights" to the relevant modules to only this group of people.

2)Be able to assign updatability to certain pages to different people in the organization. (sub-admins)

Same as above, only create a list called "SubAdmins". You then need to assign "module admin rights" to those modules to this group.

3)They want to create a mailing list.