kelemvor
Mini Websites by template for users? Can Xoops help me?
  • 2005/12/3 0:44

• kelemvor

• Just popping in

• Since: 2005/12/3

Well, I was referred here to see if XOOPS can help me accomplish what I'm looking to do. I'm new to anything but basic web sites so hopefully this will make sense.

Anyway, here goes.

I am a member of Ally Cat Allies (www.alleycat.org) and take care of 5-6 stray cats that live in my backyard. I've been unable to find a site where I can register my cats and have others regsiter theirs and make a little mini website about them.

I know I can make my own website just about my guys but that's not what I want.

What I'm envisioning is having a website that would have some general informaion but then allow visitors to create an account if they also take care of stray/feral cats. Then they could input some information on a profile page (name, location, etc). Then they could also create a mini site about their cats. This would only have a few predefined pages like Summary, Blog, photo gallery (size limited), etc.

System requirements don't matter because I want to get the software part figured out first and then I'll find a host that can support it once I find something that will work.

That's about it. SO, can XOOPS help me with this project? I see there's a bunch of Modules but I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Maybe someone who's done the same thing or where there's a tutorial or something.

Any help, ideas, etc would be great!

Thanks!

gestroud
Re: Mini Websites by template for users? Can Xoops help me?
  • 2005/12/3 2:18

• gestroud

• Home away from home

• Since: 2004/12/22

Welcome to XOOPS, kelemvor.

If you want to keep things fairly simple for your users, you may want to consider one of the multi-user blog modules (wordpress, weblog 1.41 or popupblog seem to work fairly well).